Reconnaissance - Q5

Started by AJ at the Bank, 27 May 2019, 01:57:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AJ at the Bank

General query -

Do the Reconnaissance rules for Reece and Reece Support make these units 'Super-Units' in the game please?
E.g.
Extra abilities (Pathfinding / Spotting Concealed)
RSU able to add more +1 CVs

Do they more than ever get a big target on their back?
:-


In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

Big Insect

Not really

All our many years of using these mechanism have proven that Recce is important but they have their failings.
They will on occasions fail to communicate in situations where we might think they should not ... but the where humans and machines are involved, errors and failures will occur.

They can become 'bullet magnets' but they are not easy to hit, they can evade assaults and also they are often quite viscous in combat.

Recce Support are quite complex to work as formations - choosing which unit to use to make a Recce action ad which to operate as 'normal' units can be a hard choice. But in reality Recce Support formations were usually quite tough.

Also - they do not add to the Battlegroup BP, they are expensive (relatively) and they cannot be used offensively.

NB: a single RSUs can only make 1 Recce Action per game turn - not 1 per turn. If a number of RSU units are dedicated to undertake Recce actions, they can each do so, but again they are expensive and also although they can opt to fight, you do not get many of them.

It's well worth playing a few games just with small RSU formations to test it out.
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

AJ at the Bank

Thanks Mark

I did not realise that RSU did not add to a Battlegroup Break Point (per list on p56) - thank you.

PS - Are Sniper units counted please?
A
In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

T-Square

Snipers are classified as command units and, as such, do not count towards break point.

Big Insect

CORRECTION

- Recce Units do not add towards the Battlegroup BP but Recce Support do add to Breakpoint - I was replying too late at night & obviously didnt have my brain in.
(NB: regardless of which 'mode' an RSU is in Recce or ordinary - they count for BP)

- as T-Square states - Sniper Teams do not count towards Battlegroup BP
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

AJ at the Bank

Thanks Mark - all understood - Great
Closed!
In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.