Command Units movement in Initiative query

Started by AJ at the Bank, 26 May 2019, 12:38:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AJ at the Bank

Quick clarification query on Command Units movement please -

Can any Command Unit (including Sniper Team) use a Move action in the Initiative Phase?
Am guessing not and they exclusively move per Command Movement rules on p24?

Thanks
AJ


In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

Big Insect

On what basis would you want a Command unit to undertake an Action during the Initiative phase?

(other than Sniper Teams, which as Independent units, have an unlimited Initiative range and my shoot as an Initiative action)

Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

AJ at the Bank

Sure....

Question is whether Command Units can move at all in Initiative Phase...

E.g. To improve location prior to issuing orders in Command Phase -

Make easier to order other troops by reducing distance to units
To bring other enemy units into visibility prior to issuing orders
Etc..

But I now see that the rule (p20, para 3) still applies from BKCII. "Suppressed units, Command unitsand units that carried out Opportunity fire in the previous turn may not act on their initiative.."   Solved!

Clearly Sniper Teams are now meant to ignore this rule....but still stands for other Command Units.
In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

Dr Dave

No, they can't. You have to get them into position at the end of your turn.

Big Insect

Sniper Teams are like Command Units ... it's just easier to lump them into the Command unit category so as to not have to create a whole new category in the rules for a single unit type, of which most armies will probably only have 1 unit anyway.

Snipers are also Command units that can be commanded by other command units ... they cam also shoot at other units - which 'ordinary' command units can only do in defense, if they are attacked or at aircraft, if they have AA stats.

No other Command unit can do anything in the Initiative phase.

Thanks
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

AJ at the Bank

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.