Opportunity Fire

Started by holdfast, 20 February 2021, 11:00:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

holdfast

Am I right in thinking that the non-phasing player can only have opportunity fire for a specific unit once in the opposing player's turn, at a cost of -1 on the CV?
Or have I got it wrong again?

Lord Kermit of Birkenhead

My interpretation is that any unit can op fire once with the -1 reduction to CV if it has a valkid target.
FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF
Lord Kermit of Birkenhead
Muppet of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021

fred.

All non-phasing units can use opportunity fire. But they can do so only once per turn. And if they do they get -1 CV in their next turn (as it they had already taken an action)
2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

holdfast

Phew, for once I have got it right!

Big Insect

In addition to the above, the non-phasing players units must have Line of Sight (LoS) to an enemy unit that it is reacting to, and that enemy unit must have actually done something (e.g. moved, fired, dug-in, limbered, unlimbered, mounted, dismounted etc.) to enable the unit to actually use Opportunity fire.

Opportunity fire can only be used once in a game-turn and means that any Commander ordering a unit that has opportunity fired as part of a formation being ordered, will suffer a -1 to their base CV.
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

Zypheria

22 February 2021, 01:40:34 PM #5 Last Edit: 22 February 2021, 02:19:18 PM by Zypheria
Quote from: Big Insect on 21 February 2021, 11:02:58 PMto an enemy unit that it is reacting to, and that enemy unit must have actually done something (e.g. moved, fired, dug-in (MAYBE), limbered, unlimbered, mounted, dismounted (NOPE) etc.) to enable the unit to actually use Opportunity fire.

You cannot target an unit doing a Deploy action (limber, unlimber, mount, dismount) as and objective for your Opportunity Fire.

Dug-In maybe, because it may count as a move action, but rules don't state nothing specifically (I think)

holdfast

If there are say four units in a group each one can opportunity fire (or fire opportunely?) , all for -1 on the CV next move. Or does 4 units firing lead to -4 on the CV?

Zypheria

If all 4 has line of sight to the enemy moving or firing then yes, all 4 can use Opportunity Fire, and next turn regardless of the the number of units that has used the OF you will only apply a -1 to CV.

So if you want to order all 4 units to move you will only apply -1CV to the command orders.

Big Insect

Quote from: Zypheria on 22 February 2021, 01:40:34 PM
You cannot target an unit doing a Deploy action (limber, unlimber, mount, dismount) as and objective for your Opportunity Fire.

Dug-In maybe, because it may count as a move action, but rules don't state nothing specifically (I think)

I stand corrected Sir! You cannot target a unit that makes a Deploy move with Opportunity fire  :-[ :-[
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

Big Insect

Quote from: holdfast on 22 February 2021, 05:02:57 PM
If there are say four units in a group each one can opportunity fire (or fire opportunely?) , all for -1 on the CV next move. Or does 4 units firing lead to -4 on the CV?

No - the -1 CV counts to the group of units ordered
So ... if you have any unit in an order group that opportunity fired, that whole group is commanded at a -1 CV. So in your example if all 4 units that opportunity fired are in the same order group it is just 1 x -1 CV.
But that -1 also counts if you include units that have not Opportunity fired in the same command group as those that have opportunity fired.
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

holdfast

And I note, having missed it before, that if you use opportunity fire then you cannot next use initiative for that group. Difficult to do without some sort of marker.

ronan

Quote from: holdfast on 22 February 2021, 06:51:40 PM
(...) Difficult to do without some sort of marker.


Indeed !  :D


from my last AAR :
https://2d6.fr/?p=5221
(I finally had a game. 6mm )

Big Insect

22 February 2021, 07:12:49 PM #12 Last Edit: 22 February 2021, 07:14:49 PM by Big Insect
Yes - most people play with 3 types of markers
Myself, I use a small blue dice to indicate if a unit has Opportunity fired, and leave that on until next move.
I use a small white d:6 to mark hits and a small red d:6 to mark hits & suppression

So ... unit Opportunity fires - the blue dice stays on until the end my next turn or until I have stopped ordering that unit
If the unit is hit but saves that hit and also saves for the suppression, no dice are placed
If the unit is hit but fails to save the hit, but saves the suppression I use a white dice and use the number of pips on that dice to indicated the hits
If the unit is hit and I fail to save the hit and fail to save the suppression I use a red dice to indicate the hits and the red colour indicates it is suppressed.
If the unit has unsaved hits from previous shooting, where I have saved all the suppression (so a white dice) but is hit again and this time I fail to save the hit & the suppression all the hits from the white dice are transferred across and added to the new red dice (se example below)

Example:

My British Comet MBT fires Opportunity fire at German Hertz as it move out from behind a building to take up a firing position, and the Comet misses. The British player places a blue dice next to the Comet.

The Hertz fires back and scores 2 hits on the Comet - one is saved but the other hits home but the Comet rolls a suppression dice and is not suppressed. So the British player places a white dice with 1 pip showing next to the comet.

The Hertz receives another order and fires at the Comet again. This time it hits it 3 times. The Comet saves 1 hit and rolls for suppression on the other 2, which it fails.
The Comet now has a total of 3 hits and is suppressed, so the white dice with 1 pip showing is replaced (next to the blue dice) with a red dice (showing it is suppressed) with the 3 hits indicated by 3 pips.

The German HQ then fails its next Command roll - lucky for the Comet as it only has 4 lives!
The Comet now carries the suppression and the blue dice through to its round of play.

If you base your models, it can be useful to have some of the small Mini-bits dice holders on the base to keep the dice associated with a specific unit.

That is how I do it anyway.




 
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

fred.

I glad that works for you, it makes my head hurt!  :o

We use mini d6 for hits. Markers for suppression, either blood splats or smoke markers. For opportunity fire I think we just tend to remember this, or will use a glass bead.
2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

T13A

Hi

I' have always wondered what the idea was behind units not being able to use opportunity fire against units deploying (and I appreciate that it was the same under BKC-II)? I would have thought that a unit deploying from a vehicle or deploying an anti-tank gun would have been a perfect target for a unit able to opportunity fire.

Grateful for any advice.

Cheers Paul
T13A Out!