Live Free or Die - Rules questions

Started by fred., 08 February 2025, 08:40:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fred.

Following my first game of Live Free or Die, I've got a few questions on the rules, and as there seem to be a few players here, I thought it might be worth an ask.


Failed Charge - what else can a unit that fails to make its charge do that turn? Can they fire? Can they move, or have they already spent their movement CP in the charge. We decided they couldn't do either and just stood around regretting their poor dice rolling.

Flank or Rear Charges - is their any melee benefit for these? I see there is a bonus if you win (double wounds) and you avoid closing fire by being out of arc. We had the situation where a regiment in column, was marching across the front of an enemy unit (because of close terrain). I choose not to charge as the number of dice each side would have rolled, was pretty much the same.

Morale Tests after Melee - several melee results cause the loss of a base and a compulsory retreat. Does the unit also have to make a morale test for losing a base, so might retreat again? We decided it didn't.

About turn - this can only be done when more than 6" from the enemy. We had the situation where the enemy skirmishers were behind a unit. But this unit then couldn't turn to face them. Seemed a bit odd. I get the idea that you wouldn't turn your back on a nearby enemy, but when you can't turn to face the enemy engaging you, this seems wrong.

2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

Duke Speedy of Leighton

Quote from: fred. on 08 February 2025, 08:40:45 PMHi Forbes, answers in text...


Failed Charge - what else can a unit that fails to make its charge do that turn? Can they fire? Can they move, or have they already spent their movement CP in the charge. We decided they couldn't do either and just stood around regretting their poor dice rolling.

Failed charge is correct: stand there and look embarressed.

Flank or Rear Charges - is their any melee benefit for these? I see there is a bonus if you win (double wounds) and you avoid closing fire by being out of arc. We had the situation where a regiment in column, was marching across the front of an enemy unit (because of close terrain). I choose not to charge as the number of dice each side would have rolled, was pretty much the same.

Columns only fight with one base, so a flank charge on them is awful! Flank charge equals double DMZ and casulty outcomes,

Morale Tests after Melee - several melee results cause the loss of a base and a compulsory retreat. Does the unit also have to make a morale test for losing a base, so might retreat again? We decided it didn't.

Oh yes it does, watch your unit leg it off table, it's horrendous!

About turn - this can only be done when more than 6" from the enemy. We had the situation where the enemy skirmishers were behind a unit. But this unit then couldn't turn to face them. Seemed a bit odd. I get the idea that you wouldn't turn your back on a nearby enemy, but when you can't turn to face the enemy engaging you, this seems wrong.

Unless a commander is attached its a DMZ, but we say yes, you can.
You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.
2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner

Duke Speedy of Leighton

Forbes, have a look here
file:///C:/Users/name/Dropbox/My%20PC%20(Laptop)/Downloads/Live%20Free%20or%20Die%20qrs%20v2.pdf

The facebook page is good for answers too.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1295240634292848/
You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.
2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner

fred.

That link is to your PC!!

Thanks for the answers. 

The morale test after melee is nasty! 

Regarding the flank charge, if it is two units in lines joining as a T then I agree the defender only gets 1 stand, How many attacking stands fight?

In the example we had the defender was in column, so the two lines of troops where parallel, but the defender facing the wrong way. So the same number of stands would be in contact 
2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

Duke Speedy of Leighton

Quote from: fred. on 08 February 2025, 09:38:17 PMThat link is to your PC!!

Thanks for the answers.

The morale test after melee is nasty!

Regarding the flank charge, if it is two units in lines joining as a T then I agree the defender only gets 1 stand, How many attacking stands fight?

In the example we had the defender was in column, so the two lines of troops where parallel, but the defender facing the wrong way. So the same number of stands would be in contact


Drat, I'll find it and send it properly tomorrow.

Thought any contacted bases fought, but for a column caught in the flank, not sure, I'll ask on the faceache group.
You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.
2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner

Duke Speedy of Leighton

One reply says
Oddly, since it is not listed, unless you use the -3 (d6) for "skirmishers, even thought it's a "column" (or make your own home grown rule of like -2 (d6) for being in "column",  it appears you would use them all,  remembering that the charging unit will have the advantage that a unit charged in the flank (page 3 of 4) "doubles all losses (twice the DMZ, twice the casualties) and then will conduct any withdraw required in the results table..."  With that doubling, I would think the attacking unit would win unless the attacking unit was much smaller and had other negative melee modifiers against it or the defending unit had other positive melee modifiers for it per the chart.  It's odd that there is a +1 (d6) for firing into a column but nothing in the charge modifier.
You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.
2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner

fred.

Ta Will.

You won't necessarily get the rear bonus - in the example we had the attacking line extended past the front of the unit in column. So does not count as fully behind the front 180ยบ.

I read it that the doubling of casualties only applies to the outcome table where extra DMZ and casualties can be caused (I don't think the initial 5+ rolls cause DMZ loss in themselves). So it is possible that the charger may not actually cause more hits to incur the extra casualties.

I do feel a -2d6 for being in column would make sense.

The +1d6 to hit column is only for Artillery.

2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

Duke Speedy of Leighton

You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.
2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner