Army list / rules inconsistencies

Started by Dr.Zombie, 16 January 2024, 12:58:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr.Zombie

Back again with more rules questions.

There seem to be som inconsistencies with the army lists and the rules. And I think I need some clarification on what takes precedent. In eg. the list for Denmark it says that you can schedule an ambush for 50 points. But in the rulebook it says that with normal tactical doctrine you get two free ambushes. which is it then?

And can you have an ambush when you are the attacker in a scenario? I think not, but can't find any rules that says I can't.

Big Insect

Comments below - in-line & bold  :)

Quote from: Dr.Zombie on 16 January 2024, 12:58:21 PMBack again with more rules questions.

There seem to be som inconsistencies with the army lists and the rules. And I think I need some clarification on what takes precedent. In eg. the list for Denmark it says that you can schedule an ambush for 50 points. But in the rulebook it says that with normal tactical doctrine you get two free ambushes. which is it then?

> all lists get at least 2 ambushes free (some get more if they are using Guerilla Tac.Doc.). If a list states specifically that you can schedule an Ambush for 50pts, that is an extra for that army.
NB: the same applies for other Assets. All off-table guns fire HE & that is built into their basic cost. But if you want them to fire Smoke, or Chemical, if the lists allow that unit to fire that type of ammunition (stated in the list) you will need to buy that additional type of ammo for that gun (at the cost stated in the table at the bottom of the list). The cost is for a single unit - so if your list says 3 x Smoke @ 20pts (for example) - you can equip 3 guns with Smoke (there are no restrictions on the number of turns they can fire Smoke ammunition) or  you can schedule 3 Off-table Strikes with smoke and drop barrages instead. Hope that makes sense?
NB: the rules have developed over decades and some of this sort of stuff is 'taken as read' by more experienced players. It's also hard to work out what to leave in & leave out, so as the not have a rules volume running to many multiple hundreds of pages  :)


And can you have an ambush when you are the attacker in a scenario? I think not, but can't find any rules that says I can't.

> If you are playing a scenario game, all restrictions are stated in the scenario notes - so if it doesn't say you cannot use an asset or a unit type (off-table artillery, air etc) you can use that asset. But it will need to comply with the deployment rules for the asset (in this case Ambush) in relation to that specific scenario.
[/b]

Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

Dr.Zombie

Speaking of following rules for deployment. If a scenario states attacker uses mobile of flank deployment. Does that also mean that Recee units deploy that way?

And furthermore if attacking armies can also plan ambushes can they be placed all over the table? Like on the objective?

I know these are some quite nitpicky questions. It is just that when re-reading a rules set you kind of want to understand it all. We have been playing first edition for a long time and have developed our own style of it. Where we "roleplay" some things as opposed to follow the strict letter of the rules.

Big Insect

Answers in-line below:

Quote from: Dr.Zombie on 18 January 2024, 08:20:12 AMSpeaking of following rules for deployment. If a scenario states attacker uses mobile of flank deployment. Does that also mean that Recee units deploy that way?

> Yes - all command units (& recce are classified as Command units - even though they do not command troops) can move onto the table via a flank deployment. You will still need to dice for movement for your Recce unit ahead of it arriving on-table.

And furthermore if attacking armies can also plan ambushes can they be placed all over the table? Like on the objective?

> No  :)  That defeats the object of the scenarios and (I suspect - not having my rules book infront of me) it is not possible anyway (I'll double-check but the answer would still be a No ).

I know these are some quite nitpicky questions. It is just that when re-reading a rules set you kind of want to understand it all. We have been playing first edition for a long time and have developed our own style of it. Where we "roleplay" some things as opposed to follow the strict letter of the rules.

Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.