Rules Q&A

Started by Chieftain, 01 February 2015, 10:13:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stenicplus

Quote from: Chieftain on 23 July 2015, 09:41:24 PM
Sorry Roxxy, missed that one.

Yes.


Ok, so Hero CP can be added to magically cast missiles for mages.

What about the general's CPs, can they be added to an MP generated missile?

It does seem odd to be honest if you can.  8MPs and 8CPs and your magian is a damned good artillery piece.

stenicplus

This may seem an odd and convoluted question but it stems from mine and Roxy's game and the questions above.

The Undead Liche has a spell, Dominate The Lifeless Host (Eldritch list has similar).  Any chosen unit within 2BW gets Hero ability. Does this include the Liche itself?

Note page 32 says spell effects only apply to mage unit itself if it says so. The High Elf spell that grants Hero does mention the mage itself receiving the benefit, Ditto the Wood Elf spell.

Chieftain

24 July 2015, 04:09:40 PM #142 Last Edit: 24 July 2015, 04:14:41 PM by Chieftain
Quote from: stenicplus
Ok, so Hero CP can be added to magically cast missiles for mages.

What about the general's CPs, can they be added to an MP generated missile?

Yes.

QuoteIt does seem odd to be honest if you can.  8MPs and 8CPs and your magian is a damned good artillery piece.

It most certainly is!  But that's a huge over-commitment, given that for 3CP, your opponent can simply rally off those excess hits.  Nothing to stop you piling those CP into the magic user's spell-granted shooting attack though.

I think its worth thinking tactically about getting rid of the enemy magic user early on.  They usually have a minor impact on the game, but in the right circumstances with the right MPs, magic users can seriously affect the game.

I've learned to be very wary of goblin shamans after suffering a Surge of Savagery spell, followed immediately next turn by a maxed-out Consuming Rage spell.

Quote from: stenicplusThe Undead Liche has a spell, Dominate The Lifeless Host (Eldritch list has similar).  Any chosen unit within 2BW gets Hero ability. Does this include the Liche itself?

No.  As you say...

QuoteNote page 32 says spell effects only apply to mage unit itself if it says so. The High Elf spell that grants Hero does mention the mage itself receiving the benefit, Ditto the Wood Elf spell.

Yes, where a spell specifically mentions it can or does affect the spell caster it does.  Otherwise the spellcaster cannot be chosen to receive any benefits of a spell.

:)
Official Guru of our Warband rules!

stenicplus

Ta for the quick replies.

Cool, so now I needs to gets me a mage  ;D

stenicplus

Got another teaser for you.

A restricted move is limited to 1BW. Is the limit halved if you are in limiting terrain or is the limit 1BW period and it's your successful motivation move that is halved albeit if you succeed with loads and generate a move of >1BW you are still limited to 1BW?


This came about as it was suggested that since a Skeletal archer was in the wood his max restricted move was 1/2 BW, ie the max 1BW for restricted then halved for the limiting terrain. The opposite was also suggested that the total successful move was halved first, then a max of 1BW was applied owing to the restriction.

I hope that's not too confusing.

fred.

Reading restricted move it doesn't mention terrain at all. So I would assume it has a max of 1BW.

If you are in terrain then your move distance is halved (motivation success x move distance x half ). If this comes out as half a BW then that's the most you can move. If it comes out as more than 1BW and you are in a Restricted move situation then you can only move a max of 1BW.

I read these as two independent rules that each have their own maximum distance. And you move the lowest of these two distances.
2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

Chieftain

The restricted move is limited to an absolute maximum of 1BW.

Terrain halves the motivated move distance.

So a restricted move in terrain proceeds as follows:

1.  Roll motivation for successes to determine total BW for the move
2.  Terrain halves this BW total
3.  Restricted move imposes a maximum 1BW move after the terrain halves the move

Does that make things a bit clearer?

:)
Official Guru of our Warband rules!

Roxxy

Quote from: Chieftain on 28 July 2015, 08:09:09 PM
The restricted move is limited to an absolute maximum of 1BW.

Terrain halves the motivated move distance.

So a restricted move in terrain proceeds as follows:

1.  Roll motivation for successes to determine total BW for the move
2.  Terrain halves this BW total
3.  Restricted move imposes a maximum 1BW move after the terrain halves the move

Does that make things a bit clearer?

Yes it is as I supposed, although others did not. Makes sense to me.

:)

stenicplus

Chieftain,  yeap, that clear, ta for the response.

Ahem, as 'we' supposed Andy :). The dissenter was thrown out the car halfway up the motorway :D


Kiwidave

Hey! I acquiesced to your demands eventually ...:P

Moral victory for me though - I managed to eliminate 2 Dwarf units :D

Roxxy

Can a defensive artillery be motivated by a general as part of a group?

Chieftain

Quote from: Roxxy on 11 August 2015, 04:36:51 PM
Can a defensive artillery be motivated by a general as part of a group?


Yes.
Official Guru of our Warband rules!

Roxxy

Quote from: Chieftain on 11 August 2015, 06:18:36 PM
Yes.

Does a flyer prevent a fall back move as it says "flyers can be interpenated by enemy units". Thus it does not prevent a full 1 BW move back even thought it would stop, effectively below the flyer? This is assuming it is not in contact/melee otherwise it would be on the ground or very close too, as it is fighting a ground unit.

Kiwidave

Answered earlier Andy:

Quote
Flyers blocking fall back moves

'A fall back move is blocked if any of the following conditions apply.  The unit;
1. Is contacted on two different base edges,
2. Is contacted on both a front corner and a rear corner,
3. Cannot complete a full 1BW move (e.g. it is prevented by friends, enemies, a table edge or impassable terrain),  or
4. Cannot move far enough to end out of contact with all enemy units (including corner contact).' p23

So...if a flyer unit contributes to point 1. or point 2. it will block the fall back.

However, 'Flyers: Can interpenetrate and be interpenetrated by enemy non-flying units, as part of any move.' p10  
Note that to begin an interpenetration you must be able to pass completely through.

So for points 3. and 4., the unit falling back 1BW can interpenetrate a flyers unit (unless it is itself a flyer).  
Depending on the relative unit positions, its therefore possible (although unlikely) to be able to fall back through an enemy flyers unit.  
Since a fall back move is a fixed 1BW, it should be easy to position flyers to be able to prevent the full interpenetration (and therefore block the fall back).

Flyers blocking rout moves
For the rout move, a non-flying unit can interpenetrate a flying unit (running under it!) provided it is able to pass completely through.
Of course, flyers can still destroy routing units by moving into contact with it as part of any move.


z4carlo

A question or 2 about Formed;

'Can make a single 180o turn for free (it does not cost 1BW) during any move in open terrain'

1. Can this be used if the unit did not move? i.e it either failed or did not attempt a motivation
2. Is 180o the only option? i.e can the unit turn 90o or any amount up to 180, this seemed somewhat logical to me but the rules seems to only allow an exact 180o turn.
3. Finally, if a unit is directly behind a formed unit which then turns and charges, is this a direct charge?

Techno

Sorry, Carlo.
Personally, I can't help with that. (Someone will be along soon, though, I'm sure !)

But as that was your first post, a very warm welcome to the madhouse forum.  :)
Cheers - Phil

fsn

Hello Carlo.

Welcome to the forum.

Don't know anything about Warband. Usually that doesn't stop me commenting, but I'm sure someone will be along with a sensible answer.

Lord Oik of Runcorn (You may refer to me as Milord Oik)

Oik of the Year 2013, 2014; Prize for originality and 'having a go, bless him', 2015
3 votes in the 2016 Painting Competition!; 2017-2019 The Wilderness years
Oik of the Year 2020; 7 votes in the 2021 Painting Competition
11 votes in the 2022 Painting Competition (Double figures!)
2023 - the year of Gerald:
2024 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!

Chieftain

Hi Carlo.   :-h

Quote from: z4carlo on 28 September 2015, 09:39:11 AM
A question or 2 about Formed;

'Can make a single 180o turn for free (it does not cost 1BW) during any move in open terrain'

1. Can this be used if the unit did not move? i.e it either failed or did not attempt a motivation

No.  It must move.

Quote
2. Is 180o the only option? i.e can the unit turn 90o or any amount up to 180, this seemed somewhat logical to me but the rules seems to only allow an exact 180o turn.

180o is the only option.  It represents a simple 'about face'.

Quote
3. Finally, if a unit is directly behind a formed unit which then turns and charges, is this a direct charge?

No.  A melee charge counts as a direct charge if at the beginning of its charge move any part of the enemy target unit is directly to the charging unit's front.  It begins facing away and therefore doe not count as a direct charge.

:)
Official Guru of our Warband rules!

fsn

Lord Oik of Runcorn (You may refer to me as Milord Oik)

Oik of the Year 2013, 2014; Prize for originality and 'having a go, bless him', 2015
3 votes in the 2016 Painting Competition!; 2017-2019 The Wilderness years
Oik of the Year 2020; 7 votes in the 2021 Painting Competition
11 votes in the 2022 Painting Competition (Double figures!)
2023 - the year of Gerald:
2024 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!