What base

Started by Danyo, 10 October 2013, 12:26:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Danyo

Hello,

May seem a silly question but what bases is the most commonly used for a line of infantry?

As I said in my intro, I'm new to 10mm models!

Any help would be lovely!

Cheers

Leon

Generally 40x20mm is the best size if using WM or any of it's variants, but there are a lot of people going with 30x30's and 30x20's depending on the various rulesets out there.  If you're going with the Zulu period mentioned in your opening post, maybe smaller bases would be the way to go.

I'm sure the other members will have some good advice as well.

8)
www.pendraken.co.uk - Now home to over 7000 products, including 4500 items for 10mm wargaming, plus MDF bases, Battlescale buildings, I-94 decals, Litko Gaming Aids, Militia Miniatures, Raiden Miniatures 1/285th aircraft, Red Vectors MDF products, Vallejo paints and much, much more!

barbarian

Depends of the rules...
BUT : 40 x 20 mm is common. (DBA, Warmaster...)
For my WWII, I use 50x25mm.
I know some people here use 60x30 for Impetus I guess, but they'll confirm it themselves.
2015 Painting Competition - Winner!
2018 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!

Ithoriel

In my experience it depends on the period and the ruleset.

I use mainly 40mm x 20mm because much of what I'm painting is for Warmaster or rules derived from it and that uses 40 x 20 bases.

Another set of rules I have uses 50mm x 30mm  while a third uses 60mm x 30mm with the option to field two as a 60mm x 60mm base.

So it's a bit of a "length of a piece of string" question :)
There are 100 types of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who can work from incomplete data

Danyo

Thanks for the quick replies everyone! Found a set of rules on the downloadable rules section, a few years since it was updated but for infantry it's a depth of 20mm. So looks like it's going to be 40x20mm.

Once again thanks!

Ace of Spades

Howdy Danyo,