Concealed troops & Visibility

Started by richafricanus, 09 March 2025, 05:14:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

richafricanus

On p.15 it says Concealed troops can only be seen when:
* They open fire, or move along, or out of cover

Does this over-ride the rule that low profile troops in high terrain can only be seen from 5cm away?
So for example, my ambush in a high terrain forest fires at enemy 5cm away.  Can the troops in ambush now be feared on by a tank 60cm away?

And then related to the above, subsequent to the above action, my troops who were in the ambush move so that they're now in the middle of the forest.  Can they still be seen and targeted, as they fired in a previous turn?

fred.

We've always played that once units have fired they are visible (i.e. placed on table as other units are).  But they are still subject to normal Line of Sight rules. 

So your unit in the middle of a wood, wouldn't be visible, because you can't draw LoS into the middle of the wood. 
2011 Painting Competition - 1 x Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - 1 x Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

richafricanus


Big Insect

Fred is correct

Ambushes are revealed when the units in them are placed on-table, fire or move or the enemy gets close enough to trigger them.

Units on a hill cannot see into a high area terrain piece other than at the proscribed minimum distance
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.