Assets

Started by Christopher, 31 January 2024, 09:28:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Christopher

Do you have to buy HE assets (artillery as well as airstrikes) for both preplanned and requested strikes or just preplanned? I recon you have to pay for all sorts of special ammunition  cheers

Superscribe

Hi Mark. What you said above is a little unclear. As I understand it for ALL scheduled artillery strikes, including HE you have to buy assets, upto the limits for each nation. HE ordered by FAO etc is free.

For all special munitions, regardless if scheduled or ordered, you must buy assets again upto the limit for each nation.

The same applies to Air:GA free if ordered but assets required if scheduled. All special munitions cost assets, as for artillery.

Regards
Chris

Superscribe

Hi Mark
Another question about assets, but for air assaults.

It says 1 asset is needed per air assault and for Soviets it says max 2 air assaults @ 50pts each. So if you have 4 Hips carrying 16 infantry bases and you plan an air assault to disembark all troops in one go,does it cost 50pts in total or 50pts per helo, so total of 200pts to achieve this?

They could of course arrive on a flank deployment, move across the table in general attack mode, then disembark their passengers for no assets?

Rgds
Chris

Big Insect

QuoteDo you have to buy HE assets (artillery as well as airstrikes) for both preplanned and requested strikes or just preplanned? I recon you have to pay for all sorts of special ammunition  cheers

I had previously replied to this and got myself into a muddle.
When you say "buy HE assets" do you mean the actual artillery units or aircraft units or are you referring to the Assets in the table at the end of each army-list, Chris?

To deliver a Strike/Assault you will need to buy the actual units to deliver it e.g. an artillery piece(s) or the aircraft. You will need to pay for the type of ammunition being used in that Strike/Assault - 10pts if it is HE, 20pts if it is Smoke etc.etc.etc. The number of each type of ammo available to a particular army is outlined in the table at the end of each list. There are separate lists & restrictions for Artillery and for Air.

However, if those artillery units are used by an FAO (to deliver commanded off-table fire) their use of HE ammo is included in their standard unit cost. If they use any other type of ammo, these must be bought, up to the maximum available in the table (e.g. 2 x Chemical rounds @ 50pts each) and the maximums apply to a single unit (so 2 artillery pieces can fire Chemical rounds once in the game or 1 artillery unit can fire Chemicals in 2 rounds of fire) or to individual pre-registered artillery concentrations or barrages (e.g. 3 MLRs firing Chemicals in a single strike counts as 1 use of Chemical rounds)*. The maximum applies to all weapons - e.g. Artillery firing a pre-registered concentration or barrage or FAO ordered artillery.
Air units have their own minimums & weapon types.
A unit can only fire an ammo type it is stated as being able to fire/deliver in the lists (other than HE).
* this is to encourage a more historical approach to the use of these area denial type of weapons.

With regards to Superscribe's question about numbers in an Air Assault - there is no restriction on numbers Chris - you obviously need to buy all the Helicopters and units they are carrying etc. but they can all assault as one, at once. So you pay 50pts for the Air Assault and buy all the units in that Assault.
That is why there are such small numbers of such assaults available. Helicopters are classified as Aerial units.

Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "out of the box" thinking.

Superscribe

Hi Mark

I was talking about the assets listed at the of each nation's army list; the purchasing of units to achieve any of these was a given.

So for an air assault that costs 50pts it could include any number of units + the cost of buying the helicopters and passengers involved. So for example, an air assault of 3 Hind attacks or an air assault of 4x Hip with passengers on board would each cost 50pts for the air assault.

Rgds
Chris

Big Insect

02 February 2024, 07:23:51 PM #5 Last Edit: 02 February 2024, 07:38:53 PM by Big Insect
Quote from: Superscribe on 02 February 2024, 12:44:55 PMHi Mark

I was talking about the assets listed at the of each nation's army list; the purchasing of units to achieve any of these was a given.

So for an air assault that costs 50pts it could include any number of units + the cost of buying the helicopters and passengers involved. So for example, an air assault of 3 Hind attacks or an air assault of 4x Hip with passengers on board would each cost 50pts for the air assault.

Rgds
Chris

Hi Chris - so your list allows you 2 x Air Assaults @ 50pts each (NB: you must buy as many assaults as you plan to use, at the start of the game as part of your army list choices).

To make an Air Assault - you pay 50pts for it and then use the units that are going to be involved in that air-assault which you've already bought in your list anyway (so you just use those). In your example you can use up to all 6 of your helicopters, of different types - Attack or Transport or a mix of both. NB: you cannot use fixed wing aircraft and helicopters in the same Air Assault.

You carry out the Air Assault and choose to remove the helicopters back off-table at the end of the mission (those that remain that is).

Your next Air Assault will also cost you 50pts (& is the last one you can have) and you might choose to just use the 3 Hinds your previously used (if they survived) as long as they are now back off-table and send them in to Assault a different target (for example).

You are not buying extra Hinds or Hips for an air-assault - you use the ones that are already in your list - as long as they start off-table to be part of the air-strike. The rules allow you to make an Air Assault and then leave some or all of the helicopters on-table. So you might withdraw the 3 Hips and leave the Hinds on-table to protect the disembarked Hip passengers. The 3 (off-table) Hips can pick up another load of passengers and make another Assault to deliver them as back-up/reserves to reinforce the previous assault. They can then be removed off-table out of harms way.
If you needed to bring in another 'wave' of passengers, that would need to be via a Commanded order (as you have no more Air Assaults left) and the 3 Hips would need to fly across the table, under Command, to allow them to deliver those extra reinforcement.

NB: It is helpful in this scenario to add a Command unit as a passenger in one of the Hips. This disembarks - along with the other passengers - so it is on-table should you leave some or all of the Hinds behind, and can command them. Likewise if you want to bring the Hips back on with extra passengers for a 3rd time (not via an Air Assault) it is this Commander that roles to order the Hips. There is no Command distance penalties for him to order the Hips, as all helicopters are 'Independent ' units - however other penalties may apply - such as for making flank deployments etc.

Successful use of helicopter 'air-strikes' and on-table action is quite a sophisticated part of the CWC game and I'd recommend you start small, start simple - so you don't get yourselves all 'tangled up' :)

Hope that makes sense?
Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "out of the box" thinking.

Big Insect

Quote from: Big Insect on 02 February 2024, 07:23:51 PMHi Chris - so your list allows you 2 x Air Assaults @ 50pts each (NB: you must buy as many assaults as you plan to use, at the start of the game as part of your army list choices).

To make an Air Assault - you pay 50pts for it and then use the units that are going to be involved in that air-assault which you've already bought in your list anyway (so you just use those). In your example you can use up to all 6 of your helicopters, of different types - Attack or Transport or a mix of both. NB: you cannot use fixed wing aircraft and helicopters in the same Air Assault.

You carry out the Air Assault and choose to remove the helicopters back off-table at the end of the mission (those that remain that is).

Your next Air Assault will also cost you 50pts (& is the last one you can have) and you might choose to just use the 3 Hinds your previously used (if they survived) as long as they are now back off-table and send them in to Assault a different target (for example).

You are not buying extra Hinds or Hips for an air-assault - you use the ones that are already in your list - as long as they start off-table to be part of the air-strike. The rules allow you to make an Air Assault and then leave some or all of the helicopters on-table. So you might withdraw the 3 Hips and leave the Hinds on-table to protect the disembarked Hip passengers. The 3 (off-table) Hips can pick up another load of passengers and make another Assault to deliver them as back-up/reserves to reinforce the previous assault. They can then be removed off-table out of harms way.
If you needed to bring in another 'wave' of passengers, that would need to be via a Commanded order (as you have no more Air Assaults left) and the 3 Hips would need to fly across the table, under Command, to allow them to deliver those extra reinforcement.

NB: It is helpful in this scenario to add a Command unit as a passenger in one of the Hips. This disembarks - along with the other passengers - so it is on-table should you leave some or all of the Hinds behind, and can command them. Likewise if you want to bring the Hips back on with extra passengers for a 3rd time (not via an Air Assault) it is this Commander that roles to order the Hips. There is no Command distance penalties for him to order the Hips, as all helicopters are 'Independent ' units - however other penalties may apply - such as for making flank deployments etc.
You could also use an FAC to bring the Hips in but the disadvantage will be that the FAC might not be near the area of the Air Assault (unless he was also a passenger in one of the Hips?) so there might be a disadvantage for the distance he is from the target point that the Hips are wanting to access.

Successful use of helicopter 'strikes forces' and air-assaults, along with on-table helicopter action is quite a sophisticated part of the CWC game and I'd recommend you start small & start simple - so you don't get yourselves all 'tangled up' :)

Hope that makes sense?
Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "out of the box" thinking.

Superscribe

Hi Mark

Yep got all that.

Another related question. I have 2 Hinds and need to buy some air assaults. One option is for both Hinds to use a single Air-GA template 10cm wide x 30cm deep and all their strike factors would combine together.

What if I want each Hind to use its own template so each of their strike factors are confined to their own template? If the air assaults were on different parts of the table I assume it would count as 2 air assaults, but if I wanted them to attack side by side in the same GT so they cover an area 20cm wide by 30cm deep, would that be counted as a single air assault or 50pts or 2 air assaults for 100pts?

Regards

Chris


Big Insect

Quote from: Superscribe on 02 February 2024, 09:25:58 PMHi Mark

Yep got all that.

Another related question. I have 2 Hinds and need to buy some air assaults. One option is for both Hinds to use a single Air-GA template 10cm wide x 30cm deep and all their strike factors would combine together.

What if I want each Hind to use its own template so each of their strike factors are confined to their own template? If the air assaults were on different parts of the table I assume it would count as 2 air assaults, but if I wanted them to attack side by side in the same GT so they cover an area 20cm wide by 30cm deep, would that be counted as a single air assault or 50pts or 2 air assaults for 100pts?

Regards

Chris



Hi Chris
If the Hinds use a template each that is 2 assaults. Regardless of how near they are to each other or are even slightly/partly overlapping.
Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "out of the box" thinking.