Anglo-Martian war and uniforms?

Started by ingw0, Today at 10:14:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ingw0

I'm in the process of pondering on a new Victorian-era project and, being as I have very little experience with the way British soldiers actually dressed throughout the period (aside from there being a lot of red and khaki), I'd love some advice from anyone who knows their stuff.

From what I can see, the uniforms used in the mid-part of the century were fairly similar, regardless of global location (ie Canada, India, Europe), and the only thing that seems to be vastly different over this period is the headwear. With this in mind, I'm wondering if Pendraken's Indian Mutiny infantry (the chaps in pork-pie hats) might serve equally well for, say, a Crimean War or home-service project? I do love the Crimean War range proper, but am wondering if other ranges might be a source for additional varied poses, to make my bases look really smart. The same goes for other ranges, such as the Fenian Raids and Zulu War.

I realise this question may be moot, given that the project I intend to use these figs for would be a WotW-style Anglo-Martian force (thereby chucking any semblance of historical accuracy out the window), but I'd be grateful to anyone who might be able to give me some pointers.

Cheers!
Current projects include:
Age of Steam Danish; Arthurians; ECW regiment of foote; Great War British; Middle Earth in 10mm; Napoleonic Austrians & Bavarians; Ratsburg pike and shotte; WW2 Defenders of France; WW2 8th Army

fred.

I think you have a lot of leeway here.

Firstly you can choose when within the Victorian era you want to set your games, and it sounds like earlier on suits. And you have the advantage of the British Empire which meant that many different uniforms where in use at the same time - Sudan campaigns being a good example where red coated units where next to khaki ones.