Hello!

Started by Srpz2116, 01 February 2021, 05:07:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Srpz2116

Hello!

Thank you for adding me to the forum! Especially thanks to Leon for being so helpful.

For the obligatory little ice-breaker, I'm a military history student and have been into wargaming for 10 years now. The parts of history which most interest me are the 1990-1991 Gulf War and the Wars of German Unification.

My preferred wargaming period is anything in which one side suffered a major defeat in some way or because it has a heavy feeling of war-weariness about it. I  have a certain affinity for that air of desperation and arguable pointlessness that such an ambience brings. 

For example, the Falklands because it led in major part to the downfall of the military junta, the Matabele Wars because it saw two kingdoms swallowed up by a corporation, and the Second Macedonian War because it saw large swathes of men and land engulfed into another large conflict almost right after an even bigger one, the Second Punic War, came to an end.

Anyhow, thank you for allowing me onto the forum!  :)

- Samuel

FierceKitty

Greetings and welcome.
I don't drink coffee to wake up. I wake up to drink coffee.

mmcv

fsn

Woah! "My preferred wargaming period is anything in which one side suffered a major defeat in some way or because it has a heavy feeling of war-weariness about it." That's getting pretty close to erudition. I'm not sure you're allowed that until you reach the rank of colonel - and even that it's optional.  I have a list of members for whom "erudite" is a type of epoxy adhesive.

The Wars of German Unification interest me, but I've successfully avoided a C19 chocolate box ... so far. Would 1918 fit your criterion? What about 1814 - after Leipzig? The Fall of Berlin 1945?  Sorry, just being nosey now.

Please post photos of your work. We all loves photos.

Warm welcome, Samuel.