What the last rules set you played in 2022

Started by pierre the shy, 15 January 2022, 10:03:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pierre the shy

15 January 2022, 10:03:09 PM Last Edit: 15 January 2022, 10:08:07 PM by pierre the shy
1) What ruleset did you use in your last game? - General Quarters 1 and 2
2) What armies were confronted? - RN/USN vs IJN somewhere in the South China Sea December 1941 
3) Did you feel comfortable with the ruleset? - Yes, very
4) and... was this the first time you used this ruleset? - No, I've been playing them since 2013.
5) How many players were in the game? - 3/4 (Paul is umpiring the campaign but wanted to run the USN destroyer flotilla).
6) What went well? - For RN/USN pretty much everything, for the IJN not very much.
7) What could have been improved? - IJN cruiser gunnery

This was the first game in our refight of the "Defence of the Malay Barrier" Campaign by Old Dominion Game Works 

The RN Wesforce, based in Singapore, with a USN destroyer flotilla attached, sortied to intercept a Japanese invasion convoy that had been spotted by the RAF off the East coast of Malaya (as it was known in 1941). The sighting report was not that accurate (The brylcream boys reporting carriers rather than cruisers!  :o) ).

The interception was sucessful and Wesforce deployed with Exeter (flag), 3 old D class light cruisers and a total of 12 (mainly WW1 vintage) RN and USN destroyers facing off agianst an IJN invasion convoy of 11 transports, 2 Mogami class heavy cruisers and 8 modern destroyers.

Each IJN cruiser mounts 10 x 8" guns, agianst the Exeter's 6. The D class light cruisers only mount 5 x 6" individual centreline mounts.