War of the Worlds 10mm Scenario

Started by MSawyer, 14 October 2020, 12:53:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MSawyer

Hi there. I'm fairly new to 10mm wargaming (mainly WWII, Korea, and Colonial ;)), but I got an idea for a Sci-Fi scenario. It would be based on H.G. Wells' novel The War of the Worlds. It's kinda vague right now, but it would primarily be set at the turn of the 19th to 20th Centuries, but could easily be set in 1938 or 1953. For a 1897/1898 type of battle, British troops and equipment from the Boer War could be used. While a 1930s or 1950s battle could use WWII or Modern troops and equipment. Tripods are available through Pendraken of course, and Pegasus Hobbies has 1/144 scale diorama of the 1953 film, complete with Martian War Machines! If anyone is interested in the idea, my father, an avid board wargamer, composed a scenario of a battle based on the 1938 radio broadcast which I might be able to share. :)
Keep your stick on the ice.

Lord Kermit of Birkenhead

For the 30's scenario you would need late WW1 stuff, although the putees would be wrong. It's still mostly Lewis guns 18pdrs and SMLE with indiviual clip pouches.
FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF
Muppet of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021

Raider4

Sounds good.

Something I've thought about a few times. I've actually got 3 Pendraken tripods all nicely painted, and a bunch of the colonial-era troops still sitting in their baggies. Was going to use the Martian Empires rules for this.

Also thought about doing a 50's-style 'B' movie, but in 6mm using H&R WW2 troops for the US National Guard, called out to deal with the flying saucers, tripods and giant mutated insects in the Nevada desert. This time using the Future War Commander rules.

As usual, neither of these projects has never even come close to completion.

mmcv