Grid Board Marking

Started by hammurabi70, 09 May 2020, 03:52:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hammurabi70

A question for the old hands, or anyone wanting to contribute!

For marking out a standard grid of either hexes or squares do you think it better to mark out the centre of the hex or square, the corner points or draw out the whole of the shape?
Is it better to use a subtle colour or have a bold contrast?

Norm

I prefer the whole shape represented ...... but I have been playing boardgames for over 40 years and so that hex shape thing is easily assimilated by my eye, I sort of see it, but don't see it i.e. it's not intrusive - I know a lot of people find a full shape to be jarring.

If making your own mat, just doing corners or the vertex makes errors in the work less noticeable than a full outline does.

For games which use range for weapons,  think a bolder print is better, so that you can just visually count out the range easily.

fred.

For squares, corners work well.

Some of the pre-printed mats come with very fine Ines, and these are very unobtrusive - but as Norm says for games were you need to count multiple squares it can be a bit hard. If you are just moving or firing 1 or 2 squares is fine.
2011 Painting Competition - Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

mmcv

I'd go for corners as less intrusive. Centre points might be a bit confusing. When I've been marking out grids I tend to use bits of scatter for the corners, for instance small rocks or clumps (glue on a baking sheet then add some flock, clump, etc and peel off when dried). If you can match it in with the terrain it'll look more subtle and less out of place.