Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Wider Wargaming => Genre/Period Discussion => Firelocks to Maxims (1680 - 1900) => Topic started by: Last Hussar on 01 December 2024, 01:02:39 PM

Title: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: Last Hussar on 01 December 2024, 01:02:39 PM
Going to be playing an 1812 game Saturday.  Not really used BP for Napoleonic before.

Would you give the Russians skirmishers? Could it be assumed skirmish is just rolled into the stats, as both sides are doing it?
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: sultanbev on 01 December 2024, 01:22:20 PM
A third of the Russian army was skirmishers in theory, the Jagers, much like the French Legere Regiments, so yes give them skirmishers.

There is some argument about how good the Jagers were at skirmishing, and if they actually did skirmish much, but you can leave that aside unless you want to delve deeper into the subject.
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: Last Hussar on 05 December 2024, 10:22:46 PM
Actually looked at the rules, for the first time in years.

For Napoleonic there are no skirmisher in the army lists; I suspect it is intended to all be rolled into the individual units; it is understood your lights are doing their thing in front of the line.
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: Last Hussar on 05 December 2024, 11:11:41 PM
Tell a lie!

The line battalions don't have a Skirmisher ability,  but lights are skirmishers
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: steve_holmes_11 on 06 December 2024, 01:12:44 PM
I wouldn't have whole units skirmishing at all.

Not because it couldn't happen - though most army doctrine involved retaining a formed reserve.

More that skimishing units in Black Power are a pain in the rear.
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: fsn on 06 December 2024, 01:29:50 PM
I'll gently point out, before anyone else does, that you have a small typo. I think you mean "Black Powder" as opposed to "Black Power".
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: flamingpig0 on 06 December 2024, 01:49:48 PM
QuoteI'll gently point out, before anyone else does, that you have a small typo. I think you mean "Black Powder" as opposed to "Black Power".(https://i.redd.it/ylv30mqjd72a1.jpg)
Title: Re: Skirmishes in Black Powder rules for 1812
Post by: Last Hussar on 06 December 2024, 02:28:13 PM
Quote from: fsn on 06 December 2024, 01:29:50 PMI'll gently point out, before anyone else does, that you have a small typo. I think you mean "Black Powder" as opposed to "Black Power".

He's not the only one - My son is coming round tonight for a game. He said he wanted to do Black Power, I checked and said he did mean 'Powder' and not riots in the 60s...