Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Wider Wargaming => Rules => Topic started by: Last Hussar on 04 September 2024, 10:21:36 AM

Title: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: Last Hussar on 04 September 2024, 10:21:36 AM
Hi

Anyone able to explain this rule in O Group for me

Quote7.7
...they add an extra score of 1 for each FUBAR marker overridden to the 'O' Group dice results, increasing the chance of a Hesitant company result (See 7.3.) N.B. When overriding FUBARs if four or more 1s are rolled/acquired the battalion will also lose one HQ Order.

The table in question is
1= No Orders; Triple 1 = Hesitant.
2-5 - Company Order
6 - HQ Order

I think I know what it means - just want to check.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: henjed on 04 September 2024, 11:37:49 AM
I've read it as meaning that if, for example, you are overriding one Fubar (and thus seeking to roll all your original dice) then you add an extra 1 (as through rolled by an invisible extra, tenth, dice) which will increase the chance of hesitancy for one company.

Which then means that if you are attempting to override three Fubars you will automatically get one hesitant company - and getting a total of 4 or more 1s is also v likely in that scenario which will also remove an HQ order.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: Last Hussar on 04 September 2024, 11:41:37 AM
That's what I finally settled on - Rich isn't always crystal with meaning.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: mollinary on 04 September 2024, 12:35:57 PM

QuoteThat's what I finally settled on - Rich isn't always crystal with meaning.
Hmm - think O Group is written by David Brown, not Rich Clarke.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: Last Hussar on 04 September 2024, 03:58:39 PM
It is! Technically it is Reisswitz Press, not TFL.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: fred. on 04 September 2024, 06:40:00 PM
QuoteI've read it as meaning that if, for example, you are overriding one Fubar (and thus seeking to roll all your original dice) then you add an extra 1 (as through rolled by an invisible extra, tenth, dice) which will increase the chance of hesitancy for one company.

Which then means that if you are attempting to override three Fubars you will automatically get one hesitant company - and getting a total of 4 or more 1s is also v likely in that scenario which will also remove an HQ order.
It's a while since I played O group - but that's my view too


The slightly odd but is the idea of the extra dice, rather than just saying roll less dice, as 1 dice automatically counts as a 1 for each fubar.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: Last Hussar on 04 September 2024, 09:56:18 PM
If you add extra dice set at one you are more likely to get Hesitant companies, rather than just convert dice from the hand before the throw.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: fred. on 05 September 2024, 06:46:04 AM
Probably, but you will get more Orders with dice. It was more about how the rule could be read.  Either way I think it's fairly marginal - and by the point you have that many Fubars you have plenty of other problems to deal with!
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: henjed on 05 September 2024, 07:39:08 AM
Yes, I'd agree it's marginal.  It's an interesting concept, though; although if you could *choose* the hesitant company (if that's the result of the die roll and 'invisible' ones) then I might choose to over-ride the Fubars (I have never bothered to do that so far in my games).  But the risk of the only part of your force which might still wrest victory from the jaws of defeat going hesitant is too great for me to give it a go.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: Last Hussar on 21 September 2024, 10:19:06 AM
Played yesterday with Sunjester. We enjoyed the game, but one thing seemed wrong.

He was able to move a company commander deep onto the table, actually behind a unit hidden in 'Ambush'.

From that CC he then later deployed a CP close to my table edge. By this point the Ambush unit had been revealed. The CP deployed more than 8 inches from any of my units, and with 18 of the CC. However to get there it had to pass within 8 of my units, but the rules

Because it was part of the CC command, it deployed off him, not from moving from his table edge. He had 2 platoons and an MMG deep behind me.

Have we missed something,  or is there a gap in the rules?

Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: sunjester on 22 September 2024, 08:03:41 AM
Quote from: Last Hussar on 21 September 2024, 10:19:06 AMHe was able to move a company commander deep onto the table, actually behind a unit hidden in 'Ambush'.

To clarify, this was my reserve company commander and his nominated deployment point was an area of woods. At the time I deployed him there were no visible enemy between my baseline and the nominated deployment point.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: T13A on 22 September 2024, 11:43:37 AM
Hi

Presumably a 'Consolidation!' action was used to deploy the Company Commander?

Providing the deployment point had been secured (i.e. had been physically captured or was an occupied terrain feature and was clear of enemy units and combat patrols) then I think it is legit.

Just my tuppence worth of course!

Cheers Paul
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: fred. on 22 September 2024, 11:44:14 AM
Why didn't you trigger the ambush unit?

I'm struggling to understand what happened here, and it's been an age since I played O group too.
Title: Re: Help with 'O' Group by TFL
Post by: sunjester on 22 September 2024, 03:42:58 PM
Yes my deployment did trigger the ambush (Last Hussar waited until I had deployed a platoon onto one of the combat patrols and kicked it's arse big time. The Company Commander and remains of the platoon withdrew behind a hedge in an adjoining field.

The query concerns the second p[art of LH's post
"From that CC he then later deployed a CP close to my table edge. By this point the Ambush unit had been revealed. The CP deployed more than 8 inches from any of my units, and with 18 of the CC. However to get there it had to pass within 8 of my units, but the rules"

It was from this position that I deployed 2 Combat Patrols at the far end of the field, which put them behind LH's positions. They were within 18" of the Commander and more that 8" from any German units or Combat Patrols.
The rules also say they had to be within the Company Commander's assigned sector, but as this was the reserve company there is nothing in the rules to define, or even suggest, what his "assigned sector" was.
 
Unhelpfully the initial set up says there should be a clear boundary between each company's deployment area, but goes on to say "players can alter a boundary if the battle situation changes".

I suppose this is actually about what is the deployment area for a reserve company?