Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Pendraken Rules! => Blitzkrieg Commander IV => BKC-IV Rule Queries => Topic started by: Gangyvikings on 27 June 2024, 01:33:50 PM

Title: Command Phase modiefiers
Post by: Gangyvikings on 27 June 2024, 01:33:50 PM
Hi all, we have been playing a few games of BKIV and keep coming up against what may be an obvious query.  In the Command Modifier table on Page 22 there is a -1 if any unit has used opportunity fire in the last turn.  So, if there is a group of four tanks and one has used opportunity in the last turn is it just that one tank which is -1 on the command roll or the whole group of four.  the phrase if any... suggests it applies to the whole group if any one of the group has opportunity fired. 
Title: Re: Command Phase modiefiers
Post by: Lord Kermit of Birkenhead on 27 June 2024, 02:11:42 PM
No it applies to all elements subordinated to that HQ...
Title: Re: Command Phase modiefiers
Post by: Big Insect on 27 June 2024, 05:35:47 PM
QuoteHi all, we have been playing a few games of BKIV and keep coming up against what may be an obvious query.  In the Command Modifier table on Page 22 there is a -1 if any unit has used opportunity fire in the last turn.  So, if there is a group of four tanks and one has used opportunity in the last turn is it just that one tank which is -1 on the command roll or the whole group of four.  the phrase if any... suggests it applies to the whole group if any one of the group has opportunity fired. 

That is correct - if any units in an order group have used Opportunity Fire in the previous (opponents) turn, then all other units along with them in the same Order Group will be subject to the same -1.

The only possible exception to this (that I can see & I'll need to check a copy of my rules & my core rules data-base to clarify this) is that this -1 may only apply for as long as the unit that Opportunity Fired remains within the order group. Remember - units can be dropped from an existing order group and the remaining units can be continued to be ordered (but new units cannot be added). So, if that unit is KO'd or suppressed or deliberately dropped from the Order Group, the Opportunity Fire -1 may well be removed from ordering the remainder of the order group.
HOWEVER ... I need to do a bit of deep dive into my archive to check that.
So please don't take this as a ruling  :)
But hopefully I have answered your original query.
Thanks
Mark