Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Pendraken Rules! => Blitzkrieg Commander IV => BKC-IV Rule Queries => Topic started by: dylan on 22 December 2023, 11:00:56 PM

Title: Close assault and opportunity fire question
Post by: dylan on 22 December 2023, 11:00:56 PM
I see this question was asked before and Big Insect said he'd get back to it but hasn't yet.

The question relates to opportunity fire (which was called response fire in previous editions) against close assaults.  If a defending unit has already undertaken opportunity fire in its turn, can it fire at an incoming assaulting unit?

I recall on the old forum that Mr Jones clarified that in BKCI/II the intention was that you could response fire, even if you'd previously opportunity fired. But I note slight tweaks in wording for BKCIV so I'd like to know what the design intent might be.
Title: Re: Close assault and opportunity fire question
Post by: Big Insect on 23 December 2023, 11:53:32 AM
Quote from: dylan on 22 December 2023, 11:00:56 PMI see this question was asked before and Big Insect said he'd get back to it but hasn't yet.

The question relates to opportunity fire (which was called response fire in previous editions) against close assaults.  If a defending unit has already undertaken opportunity fire in its turn, can it fire at an incoming assaulting unit?

I recall on the old forum that Mr Jones clarified that in BKCI/II the intention was that you could response fire, even if you'd previously opportunity fired. But I note slight tweaks in wording for BKCIV so I'd like to know what the design intent might be.

Yes, you can undertake response fire, if you have already undertaken Opportunity fire earlier in the same game turn.

Thanks for reminding me  :)