Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Pendraken Rules! => Cold War Commander => Topic started by: BTM on 02 September 2023, 05:07:43 PM

Title: Fire and forget rule
Post by: BTM on 02 September 2023, 05:07:43 PM
Hi,

Fire and Forget rule in page 92 states: "Hits target on a 3+ in the Open". Fire and Forget from US 1946+ Army list states "-2 to hit". Wich one is the correct? I don't understand the -2. It means that troops in hard cover are hit in 4+ instead of 6?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: Big Insect on 06 September 2023, 03:15:39 PM
I am out in Lisbon BTM (at a wargames competition) & will reply upon my return.
I suspect that one refers to the F&F rules and the other to a specific US type of ATGM, shooting on a LoS basis.
But until I can check my rules, thats a guess.

Also - have you double checked the US online lists with the printed lists - as a lot of errata was picked up between printing & the online lists being published.

And which weapon line are you specifically looking at please?
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: Orcs on 06 September 2023, 07:08:38 PM
I find I forget ules all the time, or try to apply a rule from one set to another set. :)
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: BTM on 11 September 2023, 04:40:52 PM
Hi all and thanks!

I use the pdf versions posted on the forum. US 1946+ states in abilities section Fire and Forget -2 to hit. Apache & Kiowa have that ability.
In page 92 of the rulebook, it states hits target on a +3 in the open.

I hope you had fun at the competition! ;)
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: Duke Speedy of Leighton on 11 September 2023, 05:21:54 PM
What was this thread about? I forgot.
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: Big Insect on 11 September 2023, 07:26:27 PM
Quote from: BTM on 11 September 2023, 04:40:52 PMHi all and thanks!

I use the pdf versions posted on the forum. US 1946+ states in abilities section Fire and Forget -2 to hit. Apache & Kiowa have that ability.
In page 92 of the rulebook, it states hits target on a +3 in the open.

I hope you had fun at the competition! ;)

Yes - you apply a -2 to any attacks on the firer.
The F&F rule is designed to replicate the ability for the attacker (with the F&F weapon) to sight on a target, fire and then immediately drop back out of sight or into cover.
If using a wire or beam guided system that is not possible, as the firer must remain in LoS of the target.
The hit (the target) on a +3 in the open represents the fact that these systems are much harder to 'throw off the scent' than older ones.
The -2 only applies in a turn where the attacker has fired their F&F weapon - so it will be enemy Opportunity fire that has the -2 applied to it. But as most F&F weapons are fired from helicopters you still have the ability to hit them. However, if the unit firing at the F&F attacker is shooting with their own ATGW, they will still hit the helicopter on a 6 (unless they are firing an F&F weapon themselves, in which case it is on a +3 - see Page 50)

However, on a separate point - you cannot fire ATGWs at targets over 5cma inside built up terrain or woods etc. (see Page 50) so this (hit on a +3) only applies in the open 'Open' or just into cover. Plus the target unit usually also gets the option to evade of course, and if they are in a BUA or Wood they will almost certainly be out of sight immediately.

Hope that helps explain things (sort of) ?
Cheers
Mark
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: Big Insect on 11 September 2023, 07:27:42 PM
Quote from: Orcs on 06 September 2023, 07:08:38 PMI find I forget ules all the time, or try to apply a rule from one set to another set. :)
Quote from: Lord Speedy of Leighton on 11 September 2023, 05:21:54 PMWhat was this thread about? I forgot.

I sympathis with you, I'm a bit like a troll - my brain works better in the cold  8)
Title: Re: Fire and forget rule
Post by: BTM on 13 September 2023, 01:41:17 PM
Thanks a lot Big Insect. Now it's clear.