Merry Christmas all ,
Where can ambushes be placed on the board. Owners deployment zone or anywhere? I can't find it in the rules ..
Behind the manger. When the magi bend over and say "What a lovely little...", make your move.
You can ambush anywhere on the board - unless there is a restriction in a specific scenario.
Of course, the further away you are from your own Command units at the time the ambush is sprung, the more difficult it is to command the units in the Ambush, as you cannot put Command units in Reserve.
But nobody expects an Ambush, "our chief weapon is surprise, fear & surprise!" :D
Quote from: Big Insect on 22 December 2021, 09:43:41 AMBut nobody expects an Ambush, "our chief weapon is surprise, fear & surprise!" :D
Dont forget a fanatical devotion to the Pope Mark
QuoteDont forget a fanatical devotion to the Pope Mark
Pope Mark? Has Big Insect been raised to the see of St Peter? :)
Enquiring minds want to know.
OK, I'll stop channelling my inner FK now. :)
You'll just have to wait for the smoke to find out.
But I am looking forward to having my own band of fanatical followers to reap havoc on the buffoons and party-goers that claim to be running the country (but I'd better stop that train of thought right now or I'll derail this serious thread)!!!
:) :) Excellent thanks
Further Ambush questions I'm limited to only using troops from the Reserve so up to 1999 pts thats only 3 units max ,right ?
If that's so, the Finns can have a max of 5 ambushes ( 3 for Flexible ,2 paid for ) , how would they ever use them at less than 2000 pts ?
You'll need to field much bigger armies to use them all at once.
But also the Finns can use the special rule that allows them to go back into Reserve from an Ambush - I've not got my Rules book with me, but I think it is the Hide rule? So once you have used 1 Ambush, you can withdraw the ambushers (back into Reserve) and then reappear at another Ambush site in another turn with the same troops (as long as they were not knocked-out in the 1st Ambush).
It is to represent the fact that Partisans, Guerrillas and armies like the Finns used hit & run tactics. Ambushing and then melting back into the snowy whiteness of their forests, to re-emerge elsewhere to attack the Soviet enemy again.
Ah , I don't think they get Hide ,but they do get "Fieldcraft"
So they get an HQ plus 3 extra units ( so total 6 units ) .
So any units from Ambush that has been activated & placed on the board may be put back into Reserve ( and removed from the board) on a Command roll ?
I don't have my rules with me - so you'd also need to check ou the Hide rule.
The Reserve rule does (if memory serves me correctly) allow you to put units back into Reserve as a Command order, but I'd need to check that.
Sure, thanks.
Is there a limit to how you go back into Reserve? Like if the enemy are at a certain distance you can't ?
Quote from: Amra on 22 December 2021, 12:30:13 PM:) :) Excellent thanks
Further Ambush questions I'm limited to only using troops from the Reserve so up to 1999 pts thats only 3 units max ,right ?
If that's so, the Finns can have a max of 5 ambushes ( 3 for Flexible ,2 paid for ) , how would they ever use them at less than 2000 pts ?
Oh boy, I may have been doing this wrong. I've always read the units/points limits as 3 per 1000. So 1-1000 = 3; 1001-2000 = 6; etc.