Hello all, thanks for the invite to the forum -
Question regarding the Commander series (we're playing CWC specifically). If a Commander attempts to give an order to a unit for the first time that turn and the order fails, could a different commander then attempt to issue an order to that unit since the order never took place? RAW right now, it's presumed that the Order wasn't actually received or acted on, so YES, if the first order for that unit is failed and they don't actually make an action, then you can try again with a second commander.
There are a couple of 'correct' answers to this.
1). yes - if an HQ is attempting to order a unit (or a formation of units) for the very 1st time and fails the Command roll (not a blunder but a fail) then another Commander can attempt to order these units or formation.
or
2). yes, however - if you are playing the Fixed Formation rules (usually applicable to the likes of Warsaw Pact or Chinese or other similar regimes that do not necessarily encourage independence of thought amount junior officers/ranks), if the Commanding HQ for that Fixed Formation fails to pass their Command roll (not a blunder but a fail) then the units under order at that time, or in that HQ's fixed formation, can only be ordered by the overall Battle Groups Commanding Officer - CO - not by any other HQs.
Penalties may apply for a second attempt at ordering - that depends upon the formations tactical doctrine, but please check the rules for that.
Hope that makes sense and answers your query?
Cheers
Mark
Quote from: Big Insect on 26 July 2021, 01:47:07 PM
There are a couple of 'correct' answers to this.
1). yes - if an HQ is attempting to order a unit (or a formation of units) for the very 1st time and fails the Command roll (not a blunder but a fail) then another Commander can attempt to order these units or formation.
or
2). yes, however - if you are playing the Fixed Formation rules (usually applicable to the likes of Warsaw Pact or Chinese or other similar regimes that do not necessarily encourage independence of thought amount junior officers/ranks), if the Commanding HQ for that Fixed Formation fails to pass their Command roll (not a blunder but a fail) then the units under order at that time, or in that HQ's fixed formation, can only be ordered by the overall Battle Groups Commanding Officer - CO - not by any other HQs.
Penalties may apply for a second attempt at ordering - that depends upon the formations tactical doctrine, but please check the rules for that.
Hope that makes sense and answers your query?
Cheers
Mark
Makes sense, many thanks Mark!
Not a problem - happy to help - enjoy your game :D
Quote from: Big Insect on 26 July 2021, 03:55:10 PM
Not a problem - happy to help - enjoy your game :D
I LIEDIn the Errata I see there's an optional rule for Concealed Troops - had some questions around that.
Troops on foot that move to the edge of cover that were previously out-of-sight can only be seen:
• if they open fire, or move along, or out of the coverJust to confirm, that means if they move laterally along a tree line they can be seen?
• they are the target of a recce unitWe are assuming that it's not the target of a shooting attack, but that they are "spotted" by a Recce unit during it's Initiative phase using a Recce action - is this correct?
All other troops gain the same benefits as troops on foot, except they will be seen within 20cm.Very confused by this statement. "All other troops" meaning everything that is a foot infantry? The wording is a bit confusing as the main rulebook refers to everything else as "Units".
Quote from: ntdars on 26 July 2021, 09:53:46 PM
In the Errata I see there's an optional rule for Concealed Troops - had some questions around that.
Troops on foot that move to the edge of cover that were previously out-of-sight can only be seen:
• if they open fire, or move along, or out of the cover
Just to confirm, that means if they move laterally along a tree line they can be seen?
YES
• they are the target of a recce unit
We are assuming that it's not the target of a shooting attack, but that they are "spotted" by a Recce unit during it's Initiative phase using a Recce action - is this correct?
YES
All other troops gain the same benefits as troops on foot, except they will be seen within 20cm.
Very confused by this statement. "All other troops" meaning everything that is a foot infantry? The wording is a bit confusing as the main rulebook refers to everything else as "Units".
I agree it is confusing (one to correct in CWCII) - but it means that anything other than units classified as foot/infantry or infantry support (which would usually mean basic infantry units as well as man-pack heavy weapons - HMGs, man-pack ATGW (eg.Milan teams) or AAGM (e.g. Stingers), non-heavy mortars (under 100mm), man-pack RCLR or similar, flame-throwers etc.) will be spotted at under 20cm range.
Hope that makes sense?
Cheers
Mark
Quote from: Big Insect on 27 July 2021, 07:59:54 AM
Thanks Mark! Excited to give this optional rule a spin. Our group is happy to playtest CWC/FWC v2 as well whenever that happens.
Quote from: ntdars on 26 July 2021, 01:33:41 PM
Hello all, thanks for the invite to the forum -
..and a very warm welcome to the forum.
Cheers - Phil. :)
Arternon and velcom
Quote from: ntdars on 26 July 2021, 01:33:41 PM
Hello all, thanks for the invite to the forum -
Oooh. Clearly a polite young man related to one of the top brass.
The forum rejected me first time.
I had to
bribe buy my commission through emails to Leon. :-&
Well welcome anyway. To get promoted you need to memorise the entire "country file" and "blather, waffle" threads.
:d :d :d
Quote from: ntdars on 04 August 2021, 08:21:36 PM
Thanks Mark! Excited to give this optional rule a spin. Our group is happy to playtest CWC/FWC v2 as well whenever that happens.
Many thanks for that offer - we are still a way off on both but watch this forum for further details.
Welcome
Mark
I'm back with some more questions -
Moving Commanders happens at the "end of the end phase" but they also can't move if they're suppressed - however, removing suppression markers happens midway through the End phase. Does this mean that essentially Commanders will always drop their Suppression then be able to move "at the end of the end phase" every turn?
Secondly, how does one deal with smoke barrages? Our recent game our Russian player had a creeping smoke barrage support him through his attack and basically blocked entire LOS of his army until he was over halfway up the table, any tips ?
Quote from: ntdars on 19 September 2021, 03:26:46 AM
I'm back with some more questions -
Moving Commanders happens at the "end of the end phase" but they also can't move if they're suppressed - however, removing suppression markers happens midway through the End phase. Does this mean that essentially Commanders will always drop their Suppression then be able to move "at the end of the end phase" every turn?
Secondly, how does one deal with smoke barrages? Our recent game our Russian player had a creeping smoke barrage support him through his attack and basically blocked entire LOS of his army until he was over halfway up the table, any tips ?
In answer to the above:
No, a Suppressed Commander cannot move in the move that they become suppressed
A rolling smoke barrage is an acceptable tactic - however it is often best played as being restricted to a number of turns. I am not the expert on the use of Soviet smoke ammunition, but I suspect that your Russian player was probably using more smoke that was realistic. He should also be buying his smoke rounds and as an asset it can be restricted.
Smoke can be a double-edged sword as of course both sides LoS / LoF are blocked by it.