Quick clarification query on Command Units movement please -
Can any Command Unit (including Sniper Team) use a Move action in the Initiative Phase?
Am guessing not and they exclusively move per Command Movement rules on p24?
Thanks
AJ
On what basis would you want a Command unit to undertake an Action during the Initiative phase?
(other than Sniper Teams, which as Independent units, have an unlimited Initiative range and my shoot as an Initiative action)
Mark
Sure....
Question is whether Command Units can move at all in Initiative Phase...
E.g. To improve location prior to issuing orders in Command Phase -
Make easier to order other troops by reducing distance to units
To bring other enemy units into visibility prior to issuing orders
Etc..
But I now see that the rule (p20, para 3) still applies from BKCII. "Suppressed units, Command unitsand units that carried out Opportunity fire in the previous turn may not act on their initiative.." Solved!
Clearly Sniper Teams are now meant to ignore this rule....but still stands for other Command Units.
No, they can't. You have to get them into position at the end of your turn.
Sniper Teams are like Command Units ... it's just easier to lump them into the Command unit category so as to not have to create a whole new category in the rules for a single unit type, of which most armies will probably only have 1 unit anyway.
Snipers are also Command units that can be commanded by other command units ... they cam also shoot at other units - which 'ordinary' command units can only do in defense, if they are attacked or at aircraft, if they have AA stats.
No other Command unit can do anything in the Initiative phase.
Thanks
Mark
Thanks Mark - Understood
Closed