Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Pendraken Rules! => Blitzkrieg Commander IV => BKC-IV Rule Queries => Topic started by: Cross698 on 05 May 2019, 08:39:00 AM

Title: AMBUSH
Post by: Cross698 on 05 May 2019, 08:39:00 AM
I understand that AMBUSHES are placed on table at points designated at the start of game, like Scheduled assets. They activate as an OPP Fire, but in their Initiative Range etc
I take it then that if they survive, these units only carry out Initiatice Actions and or Opportunity Fire, as they are not placed with a HQ?? Clarification please??
Title: Re: AMBUSH
Post by: Lord Kermit of Birkenhead on 05 May 2019, 09:09:38 AM
No - they become ordinary units once the ambush is sprung.

IanS
Title: Re: AMBUSH
Post by: Cross698 on 05 May 2019, 09:51:38 AM
OK, but if you have them sited well away from your HQs, then -1 per 20cm distance (unless on a road), is it acceptable to add a HQ with them, if you opt for a 3 unit ambush?
Title: Re: AMBUSH
Post by: Big Insect on 05 May 2019, 09:29:16 PM
There are 2 good reasons why you cannot put HQs into an Ambush:

1). A Command unit can use the Reserves rule and therefore could potentially add a large number of additional units to an Ambush by commanding the Reserves to deploy. (this is why there is special characteristic rule for certain armies, such as the Finns (for example) where they made extensive use of large formations in ambush.

2). It is intentional that you must use the -1 per 20cm to command your Ambushes exactly so that you do not just scatter them as far across the table as possible. Otherwise ambushes become far too dominant a mechanism in an ordinary game. Independent troops - with unlimited Initiative - are ideal in Ambush but are a Rare special characteristic.

Cheers
Mark