Afternoon all,
I finally got around to playing a game, and I was wondering how the impetuous rule works. If an impetuous unit has 2 motivation die, rolls them and get a 2 and a 5 say. Having got one success, can this unit move 1 x MV and then in the impetuous move phase, must it move a further 2 x MV (because it failed one motivation die)? Or does the unit move 1 x MV and because it got at least one success, it does not carry out its impetuous move?
In short, does at least 1 motivation fail trigger the impetuous move (and if so, what happens with any possible successes) or does at least 1 success negate the impetuous move?
Thanks
Craig
Hi Fratmanbootcake,
An impetuous unit only makes an impetuous move if it "fails or does not attempt a motivation test".
So,
1. If you make a motivation test and get a 4+ on at least one dice (one or more successes), the unit makes a motivated move (basic, restricted, charge). It does not then make an impetuous move.
2. If you make a motivation test and get no 4+ successes, the unit does not make a motivated move. It must then make an impetuous move.
3. If you choose not to make a motivation test the unit does not make a motivated move. It must then make an impetuous move.
So, yes, at least one success negates the impetuous move.
Does that help?
Cheers
Chieftain
Yep, that makes perfect sense!
I have some other questions:
1) If a unit manages to get a charge off into the flank of a lone unit which doesn't have "formed", can the charged unit attack, given that it has no enemy occupying any space directly to its front? Secondly, if it then suffers two or more hits and has to fall back, does it move directly away from the charging unit or directly backwards? A move directly backwards might still leave it in contact with the charging unit.
2) This question is similar to the above, but what happens if a ranged unit inflicts 2 or more hits from shooting into the targets flank. How does the target fall back? Directly backwards or directly away from the ranged unit?
As far as I can tell, the Rules As Written say directly backwards, but all the pictures show directly backwards as being directly away from the charging unit.
Quote
1) If a unit manages to get a charge off into the flank of a lone unit which doesn't have "formed", can the charged unit attack, given that it has no enemy occupying any space directly to its front?
Yes it can fight. A unit always fights against the enemy unit most directly and completely to its front. Where a unit is contacted on the flank or rear only, it fights against the unit closest to its front. (See "Melee: Who Fights?")
QuoteSecondly, if it then suffers two or more hits and has to fall back, does it move directly away from the charging unit or directly backwards? A move directly backwards might still leave it in contact with the charging unit.
A unit making a fall back move must move directly backwards 1BW, and maintain its current facing. The only exception to this is if the unit is contacted on a single flank, rear facing, or rear corner or corners. In this case, the unit falls back directly away from the enemy unit in contact 1BW, and maintains its current facing. (See "Fallback Moves")
Quote2) This question is similar to the above, but what happens if a ranged unit inflicts 2 or more hits from shooting into the targets flank. How does the target fall back? Directly backwards or directly away from the ranged unit?
Directly backwards, subject to the exception above.
:)