I'd like a clarification. I'm not sure I understood the first sentence to the flank attach rule.
Could you tell me if the red unit is flank attacking the blue one on the attached file?
Marc
Flankly, my dear, me not givee dam'.
Both boxes look white to me.
No - the red unit needs to have one of it's sides level with the blue unit's front:
bbbb rr
bbbb rr
rr
rr
Kiwidave is correct.
To count as flanking, you can't have any part of your unit beyond a line across the front of the enemy unit.
In the example you show in the diagram, the 'flanking' unit is partly beyond this line and therefore doesn't count as a flank.
Clarification attached. :)