There is something weird re this diagram. The unit C charge move seems not to follow the rules directives.
That is, a charge moving unit must move by 'the shortest, most direct distance toward the enemy. ... it may deviate and manoeuvre to pass by closer friendly or enemy units ... in order to contact the intended unit.'
So, the unit C should begin to pivote toward the enemy archers, then move directly to contact them.
instead, they begin to increase the distance between them then pivot twice then move to contact the enemy.
Is there something I missed?
Marc
I thought this diagram was odd too. It seems to disagree with the text.
The text is correct. The example should show a direct move to corner contact followed by a wheel.
That actual example is designed to show when a direct charge occurs. Hopefully it makes that point clear at least? :-[