Ambush queries

Started by richafricanus, 27 February 2025, 09:18:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

richafricanus

Hi there a couple of ambush queries that I can't see answered on previous threads:

1. My understanding of the rules is that I record where I want my ambush to be before the start of the game and if enemy come within 5cm of this point I must place my ambush.  However, players can choose to divert ambushes to other tasks so presumably I have the choice of not placing the ambush when enemy come within 5cm but can choose to abandon the ambush at that point and put those units back into my reserve pool?

2. When I place my ambush when enemy come within 5cm, both sides fire simultaneously, the non-ambushing player first (described as the "defending player" in the rules).  The wording that confuses me - it says the defending player rolls "the attacks against each ambushing unit together, rather than resolving them on a unit by unit basis."  What does this mean and how is this handled differently from unit by unit fire?

thanks again for the help

Cheers, Richard

Big Insect

Hi Richard

You buy your Ambushes as Assets.
You mark them up on a rough map of the table, compliant with the restrictions on where Ambushes can be placed, but indicating specifically which units are in which Ambush.
Remember that units in ambush (or Reserve) do not count towards your Battlegroup break points!

Yes - you can choose not to deploy the units you allocated to a specific Ambush in that Ambush. That can be all the units or some of the units. Any units that don't deploy in Ambush cannot be allocated to another Ambush and must go into Reserve. If you choose not to deploy any troops in a specific Ambush, that Ambush is lost.

With regards to triggering an Ambush.
The 'attacking player' e.g. not the one who has units in Ambush, but the one that has triggered the Ambush, will be shot at first by the 'defending' player - this is effectively Opportunity fire, caused by the movement of the 'attackers' unit(s) that trigger the Ambush. This works exactly the same as the standard Opportunity fire mechanisms.

With regards to revealing an Ambush.
This is a voluntary action taken by the defending player e.g. the player owning the Ambush. This is a Commanded action* and units within the Ambush can be ordered to undertake any normal action e.g. shoot, move etc.
*Where the initiative range of the units in Ambush is large enough to allow one (or more) of them to use their Initiative actions before the Ambush can be triggered, units can use an Initiative action to reveal the Ambush. The enemy (the defender in this case) can then respond with Opportunity fire.
Which is where it might appear a bit confusing, as in both circumstances, the units in Ambush always get the opportunity to fire first. However, if a player voluntarily reveals an Ambush and choses to move, then the other player gets to Opportunity fire, unless the enemy movement is as a result of an Initiative action.

Remember that when an Ambush is triggered or revealed, all the units in that Ambush must be put on table and that Ambush is effectively 'spent'.

To be clear - there is no Command order required to reveal the Ambush - any action (other than going into Reserve) by the units in the Ambush with just automatically reveal the ambush to your opponent.

The 'challenge' as always with Ambushes in a game without an Umpire, is as to how you note down which units are still in your Ambush at the time it is revealed or triggered, and which you've moved into Reserve. But I suggest you just write this down and have it readily available for your opponent, if you get a query about it.

Hope that helps
Cheers
Mark

NB: as is often the case, as I am not at my office desk, I am answering this without the rules book in front of me  :)
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

richafricanus

Thanks Mark.  You mention you buy Ambushes as Assets, but I think I'm right in saying army's get a number of free ambushes based on their Doctrine, but some get additional ambushes in their lists which they must pay for.  Have I got that right?

Big Insect

Quote from: richafricanus on 01 March 2025, 03:01:28 AMThanks Mark.  You mention you buy Ambushes as Assets, but I think I'm right in saying army's get a number of free ambushes based on their Doctrine, but some get additional ambushes in their lists which they must pay for.  Have I got that right?

Yes, they do get a specified number of free Ambushes - some more than others - depending usually upon their Tac.Doc.
You have that spot on.
Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.