British Airborne Pack 75mm Smoke

Started by TinyTerrain, 16 November 2024, 06:54:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TinyTerrain

Hi,

I have a rules question. I can't see anywhere in the book that I can use an on table British Airborne pack 75mm to drop smoke (maybe I missed it) which is a suprise as it was commonly used by paras to shield advancing troops. So my question is how do I represent this in a fair way?

Do I just follow the indirect fire rules for Infantry Guns, and then place the usual 20cm diameter smoke marker at the target point?

Cheers, Craig

Steve J

If the gun is off table, then the usual rules for purchasing assets for smoke (scheduled or otherwise) would apply. On table I would have to check for BKCIV...

Big Insect

On-table Smoke works the same way as other on-table artillery and mortars.
Assuming you have bought Smoke ammo, as part of your assets, you can deploy these with either on or off-table artillery or mortar units.
You go through the same process for firing HE on-table but if you hit the target you simply place a Smoke marker on that unit. There is no save throw allowed.

There are (generally) no on-table units that fire using a fire template. This is primarily to represent that as the target is assumed to be within LoS of the firing unit (or the unit guiding the fire) it is more accurate.

Hope that helps.
Cheers
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.

TinyTerrain

Thank you...I think I follow what you're saying(goes and grabs the rulebook again for another look).

Cheers,

Craig