Command Phase modiefiers

Started by Gangyvikings, 27 June 2024, 01:33:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gangyvikings

Hi all, we have been playing a few games of BKIV and keep coming up against what may be an obvious query.  In the Command Modifier table on Page 22 there is a -1 if any unit has used opportunity fire in the last turn.  So, if there is a group of four tanks and one has used opportunity in the last turn is it just that one tank which is -1 on the command roll or the whole group of four.  the phrase if any... suggests it applies to the whole group if any one of the group has opportunity fired. 

Lord Kermit of Birkenhead

No it applies to all elements subordinated to that HQ...
FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF
Lord Kermit of Birkenhead
Muppet of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021

Big Insect

QuoteHi all, we have been playing a few games of BKIV and keep coming up against what may be an obvious query.  In the Command Modifier table on Page 22 there is a -1 if any unit has used opportunity fire in the last turn.  So, if there is a group of four tanks and one has used opportunity in the last turn is it just that one tank which is -1 on the command roll or the whole group of four.  the phrase if any... suggests it applies to the whole group if any one of the group has opportunity fired. 

That is correct - if any units in an order group have used Opportunity Fire in the previous (opponents) turn, then all other units along with them in the same Order Group will be subject to the same -1.

The only possible exception to this (that I can see & I'll need to check a copy of my rules & my core rules data-base to clarify this) is that this -1 may only apply for as long as the unit that Opportunity Fired remains within the order group. Remember - units can be dropped from an existing order group and the remaining units can be continued to be ordered (but new units cannot be added). So, if that unit is KO'd or suppressed or deliberately dropped from the Order Group, the Opportunity Fire -1 may well be removed from ordering the remainder of the order group.
HOWEVER ... I need to do a bit of deep dive into my archive to check that.
So please don't take this as a ruling  :)
But hopefully I have answered your original query.
Thanks
Mark
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis

This communication has been written by a dyslexic person. If you have any trouble with the meaning of any of the sentences or words, please do not be afraid to ask for clarification. Remember that dyslexics are often high-level conceptualisers who provide "outside of the box" thinking.