Close Assault on trenches in the open with Armour

Started by Hengist, 02 July 2022, 04:16:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hengist

Hi all, Sorry, I couldn't see a thread regarding this.

The old SMP forum seems to infer that armour can assault entrenched infantry if those Infantry (and trenches) are in the open (in this case in the desert).  This goes against what I have always understood the rule to mean. That as the Infantry were entrenched they are no longer 'in the open'
Which is the correct interpretation?
After all the reason tracked tanks were created in the first place was to assault trenches.

Chhers in advance.

Lord Kermit of Birkenhead

Yes you can close assault with armour if the trenches are in open ground. OK I'd not advise it, best way is to suppress the target, assemble lots of support and take 1 element at a time. Remember you are hitting on a 6, they on a 4 so you will need at least 3 times the number of dice.
FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF
Lord Kermit of Birkenhead
Muppet of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021