SCAMS....Email (without an apostrophe) and by phone

Started by Techno II, 13 December 2020, 11:15:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DecemDave

Like most here, we have had the "amazon prime renewal", the "arrest warrant over unpaid taxes", the "router has been compromised" and your "PC has errors" .  I love the latter because I used to work in IT so I can keep them busy.  Problem is you then go on a "hit this one" revenge list .  I tried a line once of saying "I'm sorry, he died last night and we are here arranging his funeral, and the a.hole on the other end didn't miss a beat in saying "well perhaps you would be interested instead"....   Those types seem to have faded away to the robo-call and automated message versions and yu only get a person if you press "1" 

The issue for us is that we cant use the unknown/withheld blocking features on our landline because legit organisations (NHS I'm looking at you) use that method.  Don't the individuals who set that legit system up get this same scam rubbish as the rest of us? BT et al should end the unknown/withheld capability.

On mobiles Apple and Google definitely  could collect data on phone numbers blocked by more than a set number of people.  I also think we should have the Spanish system where mobile numbers are linked to a verified address even though it was a bit of a pain when I needed a local SIM there. 

So I am forced to agree with a previous post that this nonsense survives because no-one with the power to stop it has any incentive to do so  and possibly an incentive not to.  Scam emails continue but are largely  held back by spam filters and occasional action by Microsoft and other big providers closing down the rogue servers.  They have an incentive of keeping legit traffic moving.     

Techno II

Very true, Dave.

Von & I get quite a few genuine 'withheld' numbers at the mo.....NHS...Registrar for births deaths & marriages....because of Von's Mum dying a couple of weeks ago.