Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
23 January 2021, 07:44:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
We've released an excellent MDF Siege Tower and Trebuchet to our Medieval range!
314808 Posts in 18224 Topics by 2282 Members
Latest Member: josh_davidson
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Blitzkrieg Commander IV
| | |-+  BKC-IV Rule Queries
| | | |-+  Oders execution sequence - clarification.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Oders execution sequence - clarification.  (Read 731 times)
marfac70
Cadet

Posts: 3


« on: 02 December 2020, 04:16:25 PM »

Dear all,
i was able finally to dig out my BK IV copy and restart reading it and training.
Have a doubt regarding the firing order sequence.
I mean, suppose that my CO gives to some of the combat units (tanks)  under it's command a move order and to the other ones, the majority, a Fire Order against an enemy formation (let's say of tanks too).  
How do I have to process the orders?
Moving first and then firing , or it's up to me?
And regarding firing order, have I to declare upfront all the fire orders and the related objectives and then roll the dice ,even if some of the targets could have been destroyed or suppressed in the meantime, or can I decide one target at time, after having resolved the previous fire?

Thanks
Marco
« Last Edit: 02 December 2020, 11:42:28 PM by Leon » Logged
fred.
Lieutenant General
*
Posts: 5546



WWW
« Reply #1 on: 02 December 2020, 05:42:53 PM »

Hi Marco

If you give different types of orders to a group it is up to you on the order of execution. So you could fire one group, then move the other.

As to firing, we certainly play that you have to declare targets before rolling dice. It speeds things up a bit, and means a bit of judgement from the player to commit enough firing resources to targets, but not too much you end up with lots of wasted shots. Remember that a single unit can only fire at one single target it canít split its shooting dice between targets.
Logged

2011 Painting Competition - Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up!
2016 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!
marfac70
Cadet

Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: 02 December 2020, 05:52:16 PM »

Roger!! Thanks.
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 95


« Reply #3 on: 02 December 2020, 10:53:02 PM »

You could shoot part of the unit, then move another part of the unit that was going to move, then fire a final part of the unit. As long as the units do what you ordered you can take the actions in the order you wish.
Logged
ianrs54
Playtester
General
*
Posts: 8923



WWW
« Reply #4 on: 03 December 2020, 07:12:18 AM »

Hi - the only thing to remember is to run the senior HQ last. It's not absolutly clear, but I generaly work up the chain of command, so CHQ/Sub Hq trhen Btn Hqs the Brigade HQ's.
Logged

FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF HURRAY

Muppet of the year 2019, and 2020
Big Insect
Lieutenant Colonel
*
*
*
Posts: 861


« Reply #5 on: 03 December 2020, 11:14:10 AM »

Ian - you are overcomplicated things  Cheesy

Order all your HQs before you do anything with you CO as once the CO has finished all his orders, your game turn ends - I usually do my FAOs & FACs first, then HQs then (if they have not already moves or undertaken any recce actions previously) I move my Recce, then I move onto my CO.
Logged
holdfast
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 248


« Reply #6 on: 20 January 2021, 12:28:39 PM »

That's extremely helpful Big Insect thank you
Logged
Glorfindel
Major
*
Posts: 508


« Reply #7 on: 20 January 2021, 04:55:33 PM »

I just feel sorry for Oders - save the Pendraken one !

Sorry...    Phil
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 95


« Reply #8 on: 20 January 2021, 10:55:45 PM »

Big Insect, isnít it if the CO fails an order the turn is over and no in-used HQs/FAC/FAO may give orders? Page 22.
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 95


« Reply #9 on: 20 January 2021, 10:57:04 PM »

in-used = un-used. Damn autocorrect.
Logged
Big Insect
Lieutenant Colonel
*
*
*
Posts: 861


« Reply #10 on: 20 January 2021, 11:12:06 PM »

Big Insect, isnít it if the CO fails an order the turn is over and no in-used HQs/FAC/FAO may give orders? Page 22.

Yes - exactly - once the CO has finished making all orders (& that includes failing) then that players game turn is over, with the exception of the CO making its final move..
So no further orders can be made by that side. You cannot then use an HQ or FAO/FAC or Recce or Sniper.

Which is why the order in which I have suggested using the Command units above, makes sense. Or am I being unclear?
Cheers
Mark
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!