Peninsular War Spanish

Started by rangerdad, 02 May 2020, 08:41:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rangerdad

Not wishing to clog up the new Not Kickstarter thread, I thought I'd ask for advice from better informed forumites here instead

I have some knowledge on Brits and Portugese but am a complete novice on Spanish uniforms

Will the grenadiers have the embroidered bag on their bearskins ?
What was the differences between Bourbon and Regional fusileers ?
What are the differences between Provincial infantry and National Infantry ?

Steve J

Good questions and would love to know the answers. I'm going to check my Blandford's book on the War later on to see if that has any info in it.

sultanbev

I've already asked Leon this, as most wargamers I know wouldn't identify their Napoleonic Spanish by the terms Bourbons or nationals.

Apparently Bourbon Spanish are the 1805-1808 uniforms in bicornes, long tailed coats, with grenadiers in "tall mitres".

The Nationals are the 1812+ British supplied uniforms in stovepipe shakos.

The others are for the middle period 1809-1812 ish, which is probably the most interesting, colourful and varied polygot army you could find in Europe outside of the Balkans. The "chistera" is the top hat or round hat. Having said that I've no idea what teh Regional Fusiliers & grenadiers look like either.

Mark

Leon

As Mark has said above, the Bourbon army is the earlier period with the formal long tailed coats and bicornes.  The regionals are the ragtag bunch in the middle period with an assortment of uniforms, and then the national army is the newly attired 1812 troops with the British supply.

Quote from: sultanbev on 02 May 2020, 09:50:13 PM
I've already asked Leon this, as most wargamers I know wouldn't identify their Napoleonic Spanish by the terms Bourbons or nationals.

We can call them something else if there's a more appropriate terminology for them.