Bought a Minidrill. Advice please.

Started by Heedless Horseman, 25 September 2019, 02:01:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Heedless Horseman

Hi  to all. I've bought a cordless minidrill. (Hawkforce). The initial intended use is to drill/ream/ grind, whatever, the turret peg holes on, (Please excuse!!!), 1/200 Skytrex metal tanks to accept the much larger plugs on Butlers Printed Models turrets. Early days, yet...have almost no time to experiment...but....the pink burr thing can 'sort of' work but looks as though use would be very limited as after 1 trial it was clogged with lead.
Could someone advise me on what bit I should be using? Drill, burr, etc... I've sent off for some 6mm drill bits with a 3mm shank, but HAD thought that some sort of grinder/rotary file would be less 'vicious'!
Obviously,  ;D, I am NOT technical...think I might have to go back to scraping out with a knife and filing with round file...(b****r though it would be (!!!) on large numbers of tanks!)   :(
Or hand drill with one of those things that you turn with a wheel...although I was trying to avoid clamping...if it is clamped tight enough, it will probable be squashed...or the da*n thing works loose and sticks on the bit!  :'(
All comments gladly accepted!  ;)
(40 Yrs ago. I should have been an Angry Young Man... but wasn't.
Now... I am an Old B******! )  ;)

Techno

Hi, HH. :)

If I'm understanding correctly what you're trying to do......

I'd be tempted to get your self some metal burrs, rather than using the pink burr.....which WILL clog up fairly quickly, using it on white metal.
I think the Dremmel size 107 would be your best bet.

I think you'll have quite a bit more control with a burr....rather than a 6mm drill bit......though the drill bit will almost certainly give a neater result.