Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
05 August 2020, 06:02:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
We've been producing PPE equipment for the frontline workers.
304551 Posts in 17766 Topics by 2249 Members
Latest Member: Waremblem
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Blitzkrieg Commander IV
| | |-+  BKC-IV Rule Queries
| | | |-+  Tactical Doctrine & Fixed Formations
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Tactical Doctrine & Fixed Formations  (Read 3548 times)
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 693


« Reply #30 on: 28 June 2019, 10:54:19 AM »

We are talking about the aspect of ordering units in other Formations Dave.

Not the +1 for Rigid (for example) etc.

Mark
Logged
AJ at the Bank
Playtester
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 257


« Reply #31 on: 28 June 2019, 04:54:38 PM »

OK - I think I understand the answers to my original questions now …..hopefully!

Is the following correct please Mark?

(1) Update the FF Optional Rule to indicate -

(a) Reece units can be included in either an HQ's or CO's  formation; Sniper units must be allocated to the CO formation (as can only be ordered by a CO) but FAOs and FACs units are not assigned to any Fixed Formation
(b) Doctrine table rules regarding ordering units outside of formation do not apply
(c) COs may order units in other formations, but will suffer a -1CV penalty when attempting to do so.


(2) Update the Doctrine Table on p74 to -

(a) Remove all references to Fixed Formation Optional Rules
(b) Confirm Doctrine impacts as follows  -

Normal : HQs and COs may issue orders to units in other formations, but subject to a -1CV penalty when attempting to do so
Rigid : HQs can only issue orders to units in their own formation, however COs may issue orders to units in other formations, suffering a -1CV penalty when attmpting to do so
Flexible : HQs and COs may issue orders to units in other formations and receive no penalty for attempting to do so


Thansk again Mark!
Adam
Logged

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 693


« Reply #32 on: 30 June 2019, 10:06:07 PM »

1) - up to you Adam.
The FF info is there deliberately to ensure that IF the FF optional Rules are played they are integrated into the main rules properly

a) Recce - yes
Sniper - no - they can be allocated to an HQ led FF, or report directly to the CO*
Snipers are Independent units - so have unlimited Initiative distance, so can move in the Initiative phase without orders
* again under FF it all depends upon which formation you are looking to depict, or which scenario. If there is a Sniper attached to an HQ in the actual formation then you an attach the Sniper to the HQ.
b). NO - the CO can order units outside his formation as per page 74 (replacing the word HQ with CO) - the doctrine table applies
c). Yes, but subject to the doctrine modifiers

2).
a). your call on that Adam (see above)
b).
Normal - No - only applies to COs
Rigid - Yes
No - only COs

Thanks
Mark
Logged
AJ at the Bank
Playtester
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 257


« Reply #33 on: 13 July 2019, 04:13:35 PM »

In the normal game (no Fixed Formations played) …is it ONLY COs who can issue orders to units in other formations then please?

Thanks
Adam
Logged

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 693


« Reply #34 on: 13 July 2019, 11:58:29 PM »

No Adam ... in a none FF game there are no formations. There are Order Groups (see top P22) but these can be made up of any unit (that can be ordered) that you as a player allocate to that Commander.

Any HQ or the CO can issue order to any unit that has not already been ordered by another commander, in a none Fixed Formation Game.

The CO can order a unit that another commander (HQ) has attempted to order (but failed - and not blundered) these units will cause the CO a -1 to the CV if included in an order group - as P23 (bottom of page). This only applies to the CO. Other HQs cannot order units that have failed to be ordered.

Fixed Formation rules do not apply in a game were the Optional Fixed Formation rule is not being played.

Thanks

Mark
« Last Edit: 14 July 2019, 12:01:52 AM by Big Insect » Logged
AJ at the Bank
Playtester
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 257


« Reply #35 on: 14 July 2019, 11:23:24 AM »

Ah - right - thanks Mark!
Logged

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.
BeeKiller
Cadet

Posts: 19


« Reply #36 on: 05 August 2019, 01:09:13 AM »

Hello.

I've been reading thoughtfully this post, and I've just make a summary to see if I'have understood everything. There is sth I still don't agree with the given solution:
1) when playing FF a rigid CO can not give orders to HQ units, because otherwise there would not be a difference with a normal CO
2) when playing FF a flexible CO has no cost giving orders to HQ units, because otherwise there would not be a difference with a normal CO

Find attached the 1 page PDF summary and if anything is wrong I will make a new version.

https://1drv.ms/b/s!AkV2e1-ABB-ki2IbA1lE_IoCjVea?e=beIH2l

Thank you very much.

Eduard
« Last Edit: 05 August 2019, 01:11:50 AM by BeeKiller » Logged
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 693


« Reply #37 on: 07 August 2019, 10:42:23 AM »

Hi Beekiller

We are finalizing the Errata and clarifications - so I am not ignoring you but it will be easier to post the final Errata piece on this, once it is finalized.

Thanks
Mark
Logged
BeeKiller
Cadet

Posts: 19


« Reply #38 on: 07 August 2019, 01:51:06 PM »

Thank you Sir. Wainting anxiously
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!