Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
28 May 2020, 01:00:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Our Peninsular Napoleonic project is up and running!
299376 Posts in 17608 Topics by 2241 Members
Latest Member: Felix Magnus
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Blitzkrieg Commander IV
| | |-+  BKC-IV Rule Queries
| | | |-+  Recce vs Recce Support (To Hit and Targeting)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Recce vs Recce Support (To Hit and Targeting)  (Read 612 times)
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« on: 29 May 2019, 03:13:14 AM »

On page 29 it reads: "A Recce unit always counts as one cover class better vs enemy direct fire, but receives no benefit vs indirect fire.  However, as with command units, Recce units cannot be targeted for Airstrikes and/or requested off table Artillery support."

Do these same restrictions apply to Recce Support Units or are they hit and targeted as normal units are?

This question came up in our game tonight with our first use of RSUs and yes they were bullet magnets.
Logged
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 663


« Reply #1 on: 29 May 2019, 08:41:34 AM »

RSU's are a different kettle of fish.

If an RSU is acting as Recce it is like Recce for targeting purposes.
If it is in its 'support' role - so not undertaking a recce action - it is an ordinary unit like any other and can therefore be targeted.

There is therefore a temptation to keep your RSUs in Recce mode as a group - however each would then need to dice for movement individually (it's a mechanism to avoid the whole RSU formation moving up to 3 moves in a go!). So to move the RSU formation together you need a Command Order and for them to be in 'normal' mode.
I have seen games where they all move up under Command and then next go all go into Recce mode stationary - as it gives them better protection and also they can influence a number of Commanders within a formation - especially if you have FACs and FAOs in the same formation.

RSU's complicate the hell out of the Recce section, but we discovered that you cannot really ignore them. They were an integral part of some US formations specifically.
No doubt I have missed a few out in other army lists ? The Germans must have had similar & no doubt the Brits did (some Armoured Car Formations maybe?).

The intention is to allow allow that combination of Recce and offensive fighting capabilities, that Recce alone does not have.

And Yes, Recce and Recce Support can end up as bullet magnets - but we have found after a fair amount of play that you can use them to sneak up on enemy formations (using terrain as cover) and bring down fire on the enemy very effectively. But if they get caught in close combat they can still give a good account of themselves.



Logged
ianrs54
Playtester
General
*
Posts: 7701



WWW
« Reply #2 on: 29 May 2019, 10:01:10 AM »

Roughly I'd do it as follows :-

A) US - the tank companies in Cavalry RGT, + the M8 Scotts and any pool attachments - M4's, M10's, M18's amd M36's and SP/Towed artillery were attached on occasion, as was armoured infantry.

b) British - the Staghound III, AEC and M3 GMC's - otherwise there don't seem to be any other additions.

c) German - More difficult - the integral SP 75's, and motorcycle companies/250 companies. Anything added from outside. In effect only the light and heavy A/Cars are Recce.

d) Russian - the integral T34's. They may have occasionally added a company of TD's or heavy tanks, and maybe some SU-76's.

The rest dont seem to have anything, although I'm not going through the French,  as DI, DIM, DLC, DLM, and DCR all have totally different recce elements.

Hope that clarifies things a bit.

IanS
Logged

FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF HURRAY

Muppet of the year 2019, and 2020
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« Reply #3 on: 29 May 2019, 01:30:01 PM »

Great clarification, thank you.

I can see some Patton “ Reconnoissance in Force"  gaming ideas on the table being planned right now.
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« Reply #4 on: 29 May 2019, 01:38:55 PM »

Question:

Since RSUs have a combination of Recce and Normal Unit characteristics do they count towards breakpoint?  My initial thoughts are yes since they are essentially fighting units.  If not then a "rules lawyer" could shield a lot of power from counting towards breaking.
Logged
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 663


« Reply #5 on: 29 May 2019, 02:35:37 PM »

Yes, you are correct - they are fighting units with limited reconnaissance capabilities.

That is also another clear difference between RUS and Recce - all RUS units, in whatever mode they are operating in, count towards Breakpoint in either way (adding to the BP and for Losses).

Again, it makes it important not to throw your RSU out in front in the open  Smiley

I look forward to hearing more

Thanks

Mark
Logged
AJ at the Bank
Playtester
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 257


« Reply #6 on: 29 May 2019, 03:03:10 PM »

Errrr -

Mark - In your reply to my 'Reconnaissance Q5' - you say RSU do NOT count towards BP.


Perhaps that was a typo and they DO?

Thanks
Adam
Logged

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 663


« Reply #7 on: 29 May 2019, 03:32:22 PM »

It was a typo AJ

RSUs do count towards army BP in all modes.

Thanks
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« Reply #8 on: 08 March 2020, 11:25:05 PM »

Mark,

Question:  When Recce Support Units are not acting as Recce Units they need to be commanded.  Does the distance penalty come into play when giving these units orders?  Or do Recce Support Units ignore the distance to the Command Unit?
Logged
ianrs54
Playtester
General
*
Posts: 7701



WWW
« Reply #9 on: 09 March 2020, 08:26:27 AM »

They ignore command distance !
Logged

FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF HURRAY

Muppet of the year 2019, and 2020
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 663


« Reply #10 on: 09 March 2020, 09:02:47 AM »

All Recce Support Units (RSU) are classified as Independent units - so whilst you need a Command unit to command them, there are no command penalties for distance applied.

Hope that helps

Mark

Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« Reply #11 on: 09 March 2020, 01:42:46 PM »

Great, that’s the way we’ve played them.  I was just re-reading the rules and could not find that.
Logged
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 663


« Reply #12 on: 09 March 2020, 02:00:30 PM »

We can clarify that in the next lot of Errata.
It's the same as on-table mortars and specialised AA units.

Cheers
Mark
Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 92


« Reply #13 on: 10 March 2020, 04:03:23 AM »

Yup, except on table mortars get the distance penalty for movement and not shooting.  However, once I get the mortars set up all they do is shoot.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!