Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
11 November 2019, 10:05:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
We've added some handy Casualties and Civilians to our Napoleonic ranges!
286371 Posts in 17039 Topics by 2192 Members
Latest Member: Trebian
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Blitzkrieg Commander IV
| | |-+  BKC-IV Rule Queries
| | | |-+  Targeting Terrain Features
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Targeting Terrain Features  (Read 350 times)
Cuachiqueh
Cadet

Posts: 9


« on: 08 May 2019, 11:01:49 PM »

Hi All,

I was working through the section on Targeting Terrain Features. It states that: “each strike has 8d6 attacks (as determined by the attack stats listed in the appropriate army list).” It’s the part in the parentheses that’s tripping me up.

If I look at the attack stats in the British Army – NW Europe list for an off-table 5.5” gun, the attack stats are AP=4 and AT=4. I don’t see how the 8d6 for the strike has been calculated.

The rule on p.13 also states that: “A standard 20cm artillery template is used.” When targeting a terrain feature, can you still choose what type of fire plan is used? Thus I’d use a 20cm diameter template for an artillery concentration, and a 20 cm square template for a barrage?

Thanks for your help.

Jim
Logged
Steve J
General
*
Posts: 7504


« Reply #1 on: 09 May 2019, 08:01:06 AM »

I think the 8D6 is a typo for the reason you have given.

As for targeting a terrain feature, you can choose whether to go barrage or concentration, it's entirely up to you. I always state which I'm using before rolling for the FAO, so it is clear from the start.
Logged

http://wwiiwargaming.blogspot.co.uk/

2017 Paint-Off - 2 x Winner!
Risaldar Singh
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 71



« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2019, 11:00:25 AM »

Orphan rule. One that introduces exceptions to the regular rules before explaining them and is then ignored in the rest of the book.

Simply ignore as it is redundant with preplanned artillery strikes.
Logged
Ithoriel
Lieutenant General
*
Posts: 6494



« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2019, 08:05:17 PM »

My guess is it should be *D6 - indicating a variable number - and someone didn't hit shift properly.
Logged

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is entirely optional!
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 81


« Reply #4 on: 11 May 2019, 08:31:48 PM »

TLAR (That looks about right.  Wink)
Logged
Risaldar Singh
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 71



« Reply #5 on: 14 May 2019, 12:36:31 PM »

Even if it is *D6 the number of D6s is explained nowhere else in the rulebook...
Logged
Ithoriel
Lieutenant General
*
Posts: 6494



« Reply #6 on: 14 May 2019, 01:23:08 PM »

Even if it is *D6 the number of D6s is explained nowhere else in the rulebook...

As you pointed out, it's in the army lists.
Logged

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is entirely optional!
Big Insect
Major
*
*
*
Posts: 505


« Reply #7 on: 14 May 2019, 01:38:56 PM »

Risaldar is correct ... it is a redundant 'carry over' that failed the final proof read and edit phase.

Well spotted ... it will be removed

Thanks
Mark
« Last Edit: 14 May 2019, 01:40:43 PM by Big Insect » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!