Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
17 September 2019, 05:17:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
The 1809 Napoleonic expansion has been released!
283847 Posts in 16919 Topics by 2189 Members
Latest Member: MartinKnight1333
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Blitzkrieg Commander IV (Moderator: Big Insect)
| | |-+  Additions, Omissions, Errata etc - please post here
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Additions, Omissions, Errata etc - please post here  (Read 3492 times)
Dr Dave
Major
*
Posts: 735



« Reply #60 on: 01 May 2019, 08:28:09 AM »

Recce
[edit] Posted on 01 May 2019 at 07:54:50 GMT
This rule is inherent across the rules sets and has been copy pasted  to bkc4.
It states the score required to communicate will be 1 per full 10cm ie 1 upto 10cm, 2 up to 20 etc. Further on it states 1 is always a fail.
This doesn't make sence as you need a minimum or 2 for any distance up to 20cm.
Can anyone shed light on this. In the original concept from bkc1 days, if memory serves anything up to 10 cm was automatic.
Errata/ faq required.

IIRC, even in in BKC1, a roll of 1 on a d6 was always a fail.
Logged

“In war possession of ground is nine tenths of the law,
And the infantry are the bailiff’s men”
Steve J
Lieutenant General
*
Posts: 7400


« Reply #61 on: 01 May 2019, 08:29:16 AM »

BKCII had quite a few changes from BKCI, but it's so long since I played the latter, so your example may have been superceded in BKCII. Hope this makes sense?
Logged

http://wwiiwargaming.blogspot.co.uk/

2017 Paint-Off - 2 x Winner!
Cross698
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 109


« Reply #62 on: 01 May 2019, 10:00:33 AM »

Recce
[edit] Posted on 01 May 2019 at 07:54:50 GMT
This rule is inherent across the rules sets and has been copy pasted  to bkc4.
It states the score required to communicate will be 1 per full 10cm ie 1 upto 10cm, 2 up to 20 etc. Further on it states 1 is always a fail.
This doesn't make sence as you need a minimum or 2 for any distance up to 20cm.
Can anyone shed light on this. In the original concept from bkc1 days, if memory serves anything up to 10 cm was automatic.
Errata/ faq required.

BKCv2 a  - can RECCE up to 60 cm and a 1 was always a fail.

This is the same for Reconnoitre, but Communication is totally different in v4, still D6 but now has modifiers ;-
50 -60 cm add +2, 30 - 50 +1, 20 - 30 0, 0 - 20 -1, Higher ground -1, target is INF or Support Unit or Low profile -1

Spotted on Target in open 4+, Soft/Partial 5+ Hard cover 6 - and 1 is still a fail. Targets requiring a score of 7 or more cannot be spotted and this is for CV bonus.
Logged
Big Insect
Moderator
Captain
*
*
*
Posts: 478


« Reply #63 on: 01 May 2019, 11:49:08 AM »

In the Recce rules - a score of 1 to spot for communication (regardless of the distance involved) is always a fail.
There must be a possibility that the Recce might fail to communicate (radio failure, paper info lost on a desk, carrier pigeon eaten by hungry falcon etc.)

The additional factors come out of the Recce House Rules from CWC.

Many thanks

Mark
Logged
vladvondrak
Cadet

Posts: 3


« Reply #64 on: 02 May 2019, 06:38:00 AM »

You are still missing the point . It contradicts itself, it say you need a 1 at 10cm to succeed, then states 1s are always fails. The whole thing is ambiguous.
Logged
Cross698
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 109


« Reply #65 on: 02 May 2019, 08:25:23 AM »

You are still missing the point . It contradicts itself, it say you need a 1 at 10cm to succeed, then states 1s are always fails. The whole thing is ambiguous.

I understand what you mean, but 1 is always a fail, but it should be shown as
10 to 20 cm 2
20 to 30 cm 3
etc
But I just think that in RECCE as in Engineering a "1" is always a fail.
Logged
Dr Dave
Major
*
Posts: 735



« Reply #66 on: 02 May 2019, 08:58:39 AM »

I understand what you mean, but 1 is always a fail, but it should be shown as
10 to 20 cm 2
20 to 30 cm 3
etc
But I just think that in RECCE as in Engineering a "1" is always a fail.

No, shouldn't it be 0 - 20 cm 2 ? Tongue
Logged

“In war possession of ground is nine tenths of the law,
And the infantry are the bailiff’s men”
Cross698
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 109


« Reply #67 on: 02 May 2019, 11:12:35 AM »

yes
Logged
ianrs54
Playtester
Lieutenant General
*
Posts: 6920



WWW
« Reply #68 on: 02 May 2019, 12:05:53 PM »

Nother niggle - the Grants in the British FE list are really Lee's - the British Army designated Lees as Grant MkIV.
Logged

FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF HURRAY

Muppet of the year 2019
fred.
Major General
*
Posts: 4880



WWW
« Reply #69 on: 02 May 2019, 12:30:26 PM »

No, shouldn't it be 0 - 20 cm 2 ? Tongue

The only time it matters is if there are modifiers, as a base of 1 with a -1 to the success (ie now needing a 2), still only fails on a roll of 1

Whereas if it is a base of 2 with a -1 modifier  you now fail on a 1 or 2



Logged

2011 Painting Competition - Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up!
2016 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!
Dr Dave
Major
*
Posts: 735



« Reply #70 on: 02 May 2019, 06:37:33 PM »

Crystal!

I’ll be sticking to bkc2 recce - simpler, quicker and faster.  Tongue

We’ve always played the comms were to any command unit in the formation anyway.
Logged

“In war possession of ground is nine tenths of the law,
And the infantry are the bailiff’s men”
fred.
Major General
*
Posts: 4880



WWW
« Reply #71 on: 02 May 2019, 10:28:17 PM »

Pill boxes and Trenches - points

Looking at these two Field Defences, I'm a bit confused by the points difference between the two.

Trenches are 5pts, give a 5+ save, protect 1 infantry unit
Pill boxes, are 25pts, give a 5+ save, protect 1 infantry unit, have a 90º firing arc, and can only be attacked in this arc

It seems Trenches are much better value?

I do think this may well be a carry over from much earlier versions.
Logged

2011 Painting Competition - Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up!
2016 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!
Solo General
Cadet

Posts: 7


« Reply #72 on: 02 May 2019, 10:36:44 PM »

Active vs. Inactive Player Question

BKC IV - Page 18 - Sequence of Play - Opening paragraph, 2nd sentence, states: "....current player being referred to as the Active Player and the opponent being the Inactive Player."
BKC IV - Page 18 - Sequence of Play - End Phase, 1st line: "Remove outstanding hits from all of the active player's units on the table."
BKC IV - Page 39 - Firing Example - 3rd paragraph from bottom, beginning with: "At the end of the turn, all outstanding hits are removed from play, so the two hits against the PZ-II are removed. It is still suppressed..."  In this case, the PZ II, hits are being removed from the Inactive Player's unit during the active player's End Phase.

The Firing Example was taken from BKC II and just about matches what is in BKC IV.

BKC II, Page 9 - Sequence of Play - End Phase, 1st line: "Remove outstanding hits from all units on the table."  It appears the wording was added in BKC IV with the words "of the active player."  Repeated on Page 36 BKC II "...remove outstanding hits..." and...Suppression markers from all units on the table..."

BKC IV - Page 56 - End Phase - 1st Paragraph, 2nd Sentence:  "Once the end phase is complete, your turn has ended and your opponent's turn will begin..."

Question: Do we leave both the hits and suppression markers on the Inactive Player's unit when the Active Player's End Phase ends as BKC IV directs?

One of our members spotted this and requested clarification. Thanks in advance for your answer.



Logged
T-Square
Playtester
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 81


« Reply #73 on: 03 May 2019, 03:26:17 AM »

Yes, just remove hits and suppression markers from the active player’s units only.
Logged
flamingpig0
Cadet

Posts: 34


« Reply #74 on: 03 May 2019, 11:53:15 AM »

Shouldn't there be an option for the Panzer iii oi have schurzen from 1943 ?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!