When did wargamers start to...

Started by Aksu, 22 September 2017, 08:44:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aksu

Hullo,
I was leafing through Gush's Armies of Renaissance, and looking at the decidedly old school figure photos I started wondering "when did wargamers start to base their figures on textured bases, hiding the seam between figure and base?"
I started playing in 1977 with plastics, but I can't recall when my basing habits evolved to the modern style.
There must be other evolutions as well... any idea when the fashions changed?
Cheers,
Aksu

kipt

Individual taste?  I did it in 1966.

ErHo

The people saw the beautiful manicured grass bases from early GW armies, and saw that it was good. 

The peasants rejoiced!

IMHO of course, mid-80s is when my bro and I noticed
"Call it extreme if you like, but I propose we hit it hard and hit it fast with a major - and I mean major - leaflet campaign."

- Rimmer

Ithoriel

1979 for me - we bought our first house and it needed quite a bit of work. Experimented with texturing bases with left-over Polyfilla. Still using variants of the same thing today.
There are 100 types of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who can work from incomplete data

Subedai

It must have been in the early to mid 70's after I asked Peter Gilder about how he did his bases at one of the Model Engineering Exhibitions my then club attended. If memory serves he used a mix of filler and sand which was an absolute nightmare to get to stick to the bases.

Before that I remember talking to Bob O'Brien (he of the original WRG triumvirate) -name dropping again but only wargaming veterans will remember his name- and he used a lot of Airfix figures. His method was to mark out the figure's base on thin card, cut it out then glue that to another piece of card to level the base. Again a nightmare but for a different reason -Airfix cavalry bases were not very symmetrical.