Painting guides for LOA

Started by Rougue, 21 November 2016, 03:04:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rougue

I'm looking for some help on reference guide's for painting the great LOA figures I'm new to this period and would like help finding color guides for the period ie Osprey or whatever material is available for a newbie.         Thank's
                                           Mike

Westmarcher

You mention Osprey, Mike. How about Osprey's Louis XIV's Army and The British Army 1660-1704 for starters?

Partizan Press might also be a contender (e.g., The Army of James II - uniforms & organisation by S. Ede-Borrett).

There's also the League of Augsburg website and blog - might be something there?
I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.

fred.

It's a fairly big period - do you have a particular bit you are interested in? This can help with googling answers.

I've decided to paint my units based in the Battle of the Boyne - which seems to give a good mix of troops, which can be used more generally.
It also seems to be a not very well documented era! So there is a lot of conjecture.

In general you have French in grey, British in dark red, Dutch guard in blue. But this is far from the case for every regiment. Then you have facing colours and flags!!

These are great figures, and are very enjoyable to paint!
2011 Painting Competition - Winner!
2012 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up
2016 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2017 Paint-Off - 3 x Winner!

My wife's creations: Jewellery and decorations with sparkle and shine at http://www.Etsy.com/uk/shop/ISCHIOCrafts

Glorfindel

21 November 2016, 08:58:32 PM #3 Last Edit: 21 November 2016, 09:02:00 PM by Glorfindel
My understanding is that information on uniforms in the LOA is pretty limited
and can take a bit of digging.

The best source I am aware of isn't cheap I'm afraid - the series of Uniform