Pendraken Miniatures Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
28 November 2020, 02:21:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Libertad!, our Spanish Civil War supplement is now available!
310786 Posts in 18056 Topics by 2269 Members
Latest Member: BKC Grenadier
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Pendraken Miniatures Forum
|-+  Pendraken Rules!
| |-+  Warband (Moderator: Chieftain)
| | |-+  Rules Q&A
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Rules Q&A  (Read 67116 times)
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #180 on: 27 October 2015, 09:07:45 AM »

Direct charge bonus:

In the picture below, Blue moved first. The Ogres and Knights both had a Direct Charge on the Archers-at-Arms unit. The Red Knights then had a Direct Charge against the Blue Knights.

Question:
Do the Blue Knights get the Direct Charge bonus against the Red Knights, as they will have to fight them, as they the unit most immediate to their front? I argued they wouldn't as they charged the Archers, but we ended up allowing it to keep the game following. I can't remember if the Red Knights were in the charge arc of the Blue Knights at the beginning of the turn or not.

Logged
mad lemmey
Marquis
********
*
*
Posts: 21845



« Reply #181 on: 27 October 2015, 09:40:21 AM »

Pretty sure it breaks down to a 1 on 1 fight!
Logged

Off to the Shed of Decency.

Chekov's Gun, Occam's Razor, and Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle walk into a bar. You won't believe what happens next!

2016 Pendraken Painting Competion Participation Prize  (Lucky Dip Catagory) Winner 😎
Nosher
Major General
*
Posts: 3123



WWW
« Reply #182 on: 27 October 2015, 12:32:55 PM »

Agree with mad l. The unit fights the enemy unit most of its front is adjacent to. At least that's what I thought I have read.....
Logged

I don't think my wife likes me very much, when I had a heart attack she wrote for an ambulance.
 
Frank Carson
Chieftain
Moderator
Lieutenant
*
*
Posts: 241


« Reply #183 on: 27 October 2015, 12:54:11 PM »

Hi Kiwidave,

Thanks for the question.  Actually i'm surprised this hasn't been asked before as its something that crops up regularly in my games.

OK, so the ogres/archers are clear.
Red knights vs archers, also clear.

The confusion arises from the blue knights charging the red knights and 'taking them away' from fighting the archers.  This is of course a sound tactic, as those archers were in trouble!   Cheesy

You make the following interesting point, 'I can't remember if the Red Knights were in the charge arc of the Blue Knights at the beginning of the turn or not.'

That doesn't actually matter.

Let's take a look at the wording (my emphasis in bold).

'A melee charge counts as a direct charge if at the beginning of its charge move any part of the enemy target unit is directly to the charging unitís front.'

In your example, the red knights charge the archers (enemy target unit) directly to their front so they fight with the direct charge bonus.

The blue knights charge the red knights (enemy target unit) directly to their front so they fight with the direct charge bonus.

Even though during the melee pair-ups the red knights are now fighting a different unit (blue knights rather than archers) they still get their direct charge bonus.  The target unit's position (in this case the archers) determines this bonus, which then applies irrespective of which unit the chargers end up fighting.

Maybe think of it like this - the red knights went charging in against the archers, their blood up and lances quivering, only to find  the blue knights moving in to meet them, so they redirect to take on the enemy knights instead.  In terms of the rules, its designed so that you get your bonuses, even when the swirling melee changes your target.  It also keeps things neat and simple.  
Unit made a direct charge?  Its gets the bonus.  Simple.   Smiley

In most cases, I suspect it will be easy to determine whether or not a unit gets the bonus.  Of course you'll have your own ways to amicably resolve disputes but I'd suggest in marginal cases, allowing attacks to occur or bonuses to apply is a good choice.

Hopefully that helps?

Cheers
Chieftain
Logged

Official Guru of our Warband rules!
Roxxy
Cadet

Posts: 27


« Reply #184 on: 27 October 2015, 01:16:33 PM »

Hi Kiwidave,

Thanks for the question.  Actually i'm surprised this hasn't been asked before as its something that crops up regularly in my games.

OK, so the ogres/archers are clear.
Red knights vs archers, also clear.

The confusion arises from the blue knights charging the red knights and 'taking them away' from fighting the archers.  This is of course a sound tactic, as those archers were in trouble!   Cheesy

You make the following interesting point, 'I can't remember if the Red Knights were in the charge arc of the Blue Knights at the beginning of the turn or not.'

That doesn't actually matter.

Let's take a look at the wording (my emphasis in bold).

'A melee charge counts as a direct charge if at the beginning of its charge move any part of the enemy target unit is directly to the charging unitís front.'

In your example, the red knights charge the archers (enemy target unit) directly to their front so they fight with the direct charge bonus.

The blue knights charge the red knights (enemy target unit) directly to their front so they fight with the direct charge bonus.

Even though during the melee pair-ups the red knights are now fighting a different unit (blue knights rather than archers) they still get their direct charge bonus.  The target unit's position (in this case the archers) determines this bonus, which then applies irrespective of which unit the chargers end up fighting.

Maybe think of it like this - the red knights went charging in against the archers, their blood up and lances quivering, only to find  the blue knights moving in to meet them, so they redirect to take on the enemy knights instead.  In terms of the rules, its designed so that you get your bonuses, even when the swirling melee changes your target.  It also keeps things neat and simple.  
Unit made a direct charge?  Its gets the bonus.  Simple.   Smiley

In most cases, I suspect it will be easy to determine whether or not a unit gets the bonus.  Of course you'll have your own ways to amicably resolve disputes but I'd suggest in marginal cases, allowing attacks to occur or bonuses to apply is a good choice.

Hopefully that helps?

Cheers
Chieftain

As I thought Dave It is logical, KISS. Great game last night, com on the alliance Wink
Logged
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #185 on: 27 October 2015, 04:23:29 PM »

Thanks Chieftain Smiley

As it turned out, my Red Knights (Dragon Men) saw off the Blue Knights (Taurians), and went on to win the game Smiley

KD
Logged
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #186 on: 10 November 2015, 01:50:19 PM »

Another game - more questions!

1) When a Formed unit is contacted on the flank or rear, when does the turn to face the enemy occur? In the movement phase or the melee phase? We decided during the game that it was just prior to conducting the melee resolution, but weren't sure. If it's in the movement phase, this will give missile units a chance to shoot their attackers.

2) Do Formed units retain Shieldwall if they turn to face an attacker? We decided yes they did, as it isn't a motivated movement.

3) If a Formed unit has opponents to flank and front, and the frontal opponent falls back, can/does the Formed unit turn to face the flanking unit or are they stuck being flanked? We decided that they could.

4) Picture round:


Which of the above options are correct? Unit A was charged by Unit B. We went with Option B to keep the game moving, but there was some debate as to whether this was correct or not.
Logged
Chieftain
Moderator
Lieutenant
*
*
Posts: 241


« Reply #187 on: 10 November 2015, 04:36:38 PM »

Hi Kiwidave,

Some excellent questions sir!   Cheesy

Quote
1) When a Formed unit is contacted on the flank or rear, when does the turn to face the enemy occur? In the movement phase or the melee phase? We decided during the game that it was just prior to conducting the melee resolution, but weren't sure. If it's in the movement phase, this will give missile units a chance to shoot their attackers.

The Formed special ability wording is indeed unclear on the sequencing.
Formed units turn to face 'before any melee is resolved'.  They do this in the melee phase after spells but before the melee resolution begins (between 5.2 and 5.3 in the turn sequence).
I'll add this clarification to the errata section.

Quote
2) Do Formed units retain Shieldwall if they turn to face an attacker? We decided yes they did, as it isn't a motivated movement.

Yes they keep this as the formed turn is not a motivated move.  This is addressed in the errata for shieldwall.

Quote
3) If a Formed unit has opponents to flank and front, and the frontal opponent falls back, can/does the Formed unit turn to face the flanking unit or are they stuck being flanked? We decided that they could.

The formed unit will if it meets the requirements for this free turn next combat round.

The picture round...i'm not sure what you mean with it.  Correct in what way?
Logged

Official Guru of our Warband rules!
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #188 on: 10 November 2015, 04:47:41 PM »

What I mean is this:

At the start of the melee phase, Unit B is in the rear of Unit A as a result of a charge move. Can Unit A (being a Formed unit) perform option B (i.e. end up in front edge to front edge contact with Unit B ), or should it be more like option A (just a 180 degree turn), or option C (a 180 degree turn then align to the flank of Unit B ).

Or are all three options equally valid?
Logged
Chieftain
Moderator
Lieutenant
*
*
Posts: 241


« Reply #189 on: 10 November 2015, 10:52:22 PM »

Ah, got you.   Smiley

The formed unit turn to face the rear contact most to full edge and corner contact if able (or otherwise gets as close to that as possible).

If no other units intervene, then option B is the best option.  The intention is for the formed unit to remove the flank advantage, not to move towards creating its own counter advantage.
Logged

Official Guru of our Warband rules!
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #190 on: 11 November 2015, 10:10:46 AM »

Righto. As a follow-on to that, are there any movement distance limitations, or can Unit A move as much as necessary to get the full edge-to-edge contact?
Logged
Chieftain
Moderator
Lieutenant
*
*
Posts: 241


« Reply #191 on: 11 November 2015, 12:13:35 PM »

It moves the minimum necessary to adjust the contact, and only if possible within the conditions of the Formed 'turn to flank' move.

 Smiley
Logged

Official Guru of our Warband rules!
Kiwidave
Major
*
Posts: 638


Cats are mercenaries. Dogs are loyal.


WWW
« Reply #192 on: 11 November 2015, 04:47:53 PM »

Cheers Smiley
Logged
stenicplus
Second Lieutenant
*
Posts: 64


« Reply #193 on: 03 February 2016, 11:00:43 PM »

Just another quick one on terrain and hills in particular.

My understanding is that to count as in the terrain you must have over half the base in it.

That would suggest that I could have a front left corner off the hill and on the flat, but count as entirely on the hill as 80% of the stand is on the hill.

If an enemy stand charges said corner of my base, does my base get uphill as it is on the hill (ie more than half on the hill) and therefore all of it is further uphill of the enemy on the flat?

Thanks,

Steve
Logged
Chieftain
Moderator
Lieutenant
*
*
Posts: 241


« Reply #194 on: 03 February 2016, 11:30:00 PM »

Just another quick one on terrain and hills in particular.

My understanding is that to count as in the terrain you must have over half the base in it.

That would suggest that I could have a front left corner off the hill and on the flat, but count as entirely on the hill as 80% of the stand is on the hill.

If an enemy stand charges said corner of my base, does my base get uphill as it is on the hill (ie more than half on the hill) and therefore all of it is further uphill of the enemy on the flat?

Thanks,

Steve

Hi Steve.  Yes, the uphill bonus applies for precisely the reasons you state.

Cheers
Chieftain
Logged

Official Guru of our Warband rules!
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!