any tips for a yank?

Started by Shecky, 25 July 2010, 05:05:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shecky

OK, being from Texas it's hard to call myself a Yank, but anyway...

I'm new to the Premier League fantasy games but I've been involved in American Football Fantasy Leagues for a time now.  Being a "Yank" there's a lot I have to learn about the Premier Fantasy League so I'm seeking some help.

I know with American Fantasy leagues it's essential to pick up players who score consistently.  In the American Football fantasy leagues a lot of the scoring is based on quarterbacks, widereceivers, runningbacks and sometimes, kickers.

So, my question is, being a Dumb American and starting off in my first year of Premier League fantasy football, what should I be looking at to judge the competency and value of my team?  Like I said with American football you usually focus on quarterbacks, WRs, RBs and kickers first before picking any other position.

I've looked at the cost of the player and last year's points of a player to determine who I'll chose for my team.  Is this usually how people determine who to place on their team?

I'm just trying to understand, in general, how people pick their players for EPL fantasy games.

So for instance, in American Football fantasy leagues, someone may pay a lot for Peyton Manning or Tony Romo because the are top rated quarterbacks. But they won't pay as much for other offensive or defensive players.  Is it the same in Premier League fantasy play?  So, in other words, if I pay a lot for Drogba who earned 242 points last year, and costs 12.5 million, is it worth it? And then pay 5.0 million for another player who only earned 90 points? Instead, wouldn't it be more beneficial if I paid roughly 8.0 million for a midfielder and a forward who combined to earn more than 300 points?