Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Archive => PPC 2013! => Topic started by: WeeWars on 23 February 2013, 01:07:59 PM



Title: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: WeeWars on 23 February 2013, 01:07:59 PM
Maybe I'm easily confused but I'm seeing more than one base in single base categories.  :-/


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: Techno on 23 February 2013, 01:45:40 PM
 :-\

Think I can see what you mean Michael.....

Though (from my point of view) I'm seeing them as separate 'single base' entries, even if they're put side by side in the same photo.....(Which I believe is within the rules) but I'll check with the other judges.

Cheers - Phil.




Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: Leon on 23 February 2013, 04:21:10 PM
Maybe I'm easily confused but I'm seeing more than one base in single base categories.  :-/

There's only a couple I think, a couple of artillery pieces with the gabions or limbers on a separate base.  For things like that, it'd be a bit unfair to expect people to rebase just for the competition, so as long as the overall entry is within the 60x60mm restrictions then it's not really a problem.

Anything which is maybe outside the realms of the rules, I tend to PM the member and let them know.  We can then either edit the entry, or move it to another category.

 8)


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: WeeWars on 23 February 2013, 05:26:47 PM
If you mount two cavalry on one base (as I do) that base of two cavalry can't within the rules be entered. Or would multiple bases be allowed? And would the figures be judged as a single unit? So, rather: the allowed number of figures within 60 x 60mm but not neccessarily on a single base?
 :-\


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: Andreas Hofer on 23 February 2013, 05:55:14 PM
places them in the pillory !!! :)


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: Leon on 23 February 2013, 07:27:22 PM
If you mount two cavalry on one base (as I do) that base of two cavalry can't within the rules be entered. Or would multiple bases be allowed? And would the figures be judged as a single unit? So, rather: the allowed number of figures within 60 x 60mm but not neccessarily on a single base?
 :-\

Just pop two bases next to each other, and enter that.


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: kev1964 on 27 February 2013, 12:44:02 PM
Leon i have painted a canoe and would like to enter it in the open base but it would look odd on a 100 x 100 base and would like to use it afterwards, i have made a terrain base with a river going through it so wondered if it would be possible to take a small photo of just the canoe on the river, any chance ?

Many thanks,

kev


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: Leon on 27 February 2013, 05:07:18 PM
Leon i have painted a canoe and would like to enter it in the open base but it would look odd on a 100 x 100 base and would like to use it afterwards, i have made a terrain base with a river going through it so wondered if it would be possible to take a small photo of just the canoe on the river, any chance ?

Many thanks,

kev

Yeah, that should be fine for the Single Base category.

 8)


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: fred. on 27 February 2013, 07:56:41 PM
And a very nice canoe it is too!

Another Pendraken gem tucked away in the catalogue, that I hadn't previously seen.


Title: Re: Single Bases in Painting Competition
Post by: kev1964 on 27 February 2013, 08:41:03 PM
cheers fred, nice to paint up also, a nice change from rows of infantry.

kev