Pendraken Miniatures Forum

Pendraken Rules! => BKC-IV Rule Queries => Topic started by: Cuachiqueh on 08 May 2019, 11:01:49 PM



Title: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Cuachiqueh on 08 May 2019, 11:01:49 PM
Hi All,

I was working through the section on Targeting Terrain Features. It states that: “each strike has 8d6 attacks (as determined by the attack stats listed in the appropriate army list).” It’s the part in the parentheses that’s tripping me up.

If I look at the attack stats in the British Army – NW Europe list for an off-table 5.5” gun, the attack stats are AP=4 and AT=4. I don’t see how the 8d6 for the strike has been calculated.

The rule on p.13 also states that: “A standard 20cm artillery template is used.” When targeting a terrain feature, can you still choose what type of fire plan is used? Thus I’d use a 20cm diameter template for an artillery concentration, and a 20 cm square template for a barrage?

Thanks for your help.

Jim


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Steve J on 09 May 2019, 08:01:06 AM
I think the 8D6 is a typo for the reason you have given.

As for targeting a terrain feature, you can choose whether to go barrage or concentration, it's entirely up to you. I always state which I'm using before rolling for the FAO, so it is clear from the start.


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Risaldar Singh on 11 May 2019, 11:00:25 AM
Orphan rule. One that introduces exceptions to the regular rules before explaining them and is then ignored in the rest of the book.

Simply ignore as it is redundant with preplanned artillery strikes.


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Ithoriel on 11 May 2019, 08:05:17 PM
My guess is it should be *D6 - indicating a variable number - and someone didn't hit shift properly.


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: T-Square on 11 May 2019, 08:31:48 PM
TLAR (That looks about right.  ;))


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Risaldar Singh on 14 May 2019, 12:36:31 PM
Even if it is *D6 the number of D6s is explained nowhere else in the rulebook...


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Ithoriel on 14 May 2019, 01:23:08 PM
Even if it is *D6 the number of D6s is explained nowhere else in the rulebook...

As you pointed out, it's in the army lists.


Title: Re: Targeting Terrain Features
Post by: Big Insect on 14 May 2019, 01:38:56 PM
Risaldar is correct ... it is a redundant 'carry over' that failed the final proof read and edit phase.

Well spotted ... it will be removed

Thanks
Mark